The Alpari Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | Forex and metal leverage can reach 1:3000 on eligible account and instrument combinations; the Micro account minimum is $30. |
| Main limitation | Regulation is tier 3, no investor compensation scheme is available, and leverage and account terms depend on the client’s circumstances. |
| Most natural fit | Traders seeking MetaTrader access and high leverage who are prepared to assess international-entity protections and variable costs. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Micro and ECN are MT4 accounts; Standard and Pro ECN support MT4 and MT5. Minimums range from $30 to $200 across the listed account types. |
| FxFind Rating | 7.21/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 5.5/10 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.5/10 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.5/10 |
| Tradable Instruments | 7.0/10 |
| Setup | 8.0/10 |
| Account Opening | 9.0/10 |
| Customer Support | 7.5/10 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.3/10 |
| Market Research and Education | 6.5/10 |
The key question is whether the leverage and account choice justify accepting the international regulatory structure and account-specific trading costs.
Pros
-
The Micro account has a $30 minimum deposit.
-
MT4 and MT5 are available, with Expert Advisor support on desktop or VPS setups.
-
Copy trading, PAMM accounts and swap-free Islamic accounts are available.
Cons
-
No investor compensation scheme is available.
-
Maximum leverage can change with the instrument, account, jurisdiction and position size.
-
Withdrawal fees depend on the method, and an inactivity fee applies after six months.
Alpari by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
Alpari’s international offering is associated with MISA. Its regulator jurisdictions include Belarus, Mauritius, Comoros and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. The contracting entity and licence applicable to each client are not mapped here, so these jurisdictions should not be read as a single licence covering every account. Restricted countries are the United States, Japan, Canada, North Korea, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Myanmar, India, Azerbaijan, Syria, Sudan and Cuba.
Protection by Entity
Alpari states that it segregates client funds and provides negative balance protection. These measures do not replace an investor compensation scheme, which Alpari does not offer. The broker is headquartered in Comoros and is not publicly traded.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 1.1 pips | Pro ECN commission is typically $2.5 per lot, described as $5 round turn; Standard accounts are generally commission-free. | The average spread is not tied to a specific account type. Pro ECN uses raw-spread pricing, while Standard pricing includes a spread markup. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 1.2 pips | Pro ECN commission is typically $2.5 per lot, described as $5 round turn; Standard accounts are generally commission-free. | The average spread is not tied to a specific account type. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.27 points | Pro ECN spot-metals commission is $18 per million. | Spread and commission are separate cost components and are not directly comparable. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.94 points | Pro ECN indices commission is $25 per million. | Commission is based on notional value for these instruments. |
| Crypto CFDs | Spread not specified here | 0.03% of notional value. | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction. |
ECN spreads are described as starting from about 0.1 pips, while Pro ECN spreads start from 0.0 pips. These are starting figures, not average spreads. Pro ECN commissions are charged separately; commission-free Standard pricing uses wider spreads. The relevant cost therefore depends on the instrument and account combination, not just a headline spread.
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Swap fee or credit | Swap charges depend on the instrument and position direction; standard-account swaps triple on Wednesdays. Swap-free Islamic accounts are available, subject to eligibility and possible instrument restrictions. |
| Leaving an account inactive | $5 per month | Charged after six months of inactivity. |
| Withdrawing funds | Method-dependent fee | Fees vary by payment method; bank transfers can cost up to $30 per transaction. A flat $3 fee applies to withdrawals below $30. |
| Currency conversion | Conversion rate determined by Alpari | Alpari may convert funds at rates it determines based on prevailing market rates; no fixed transparent percentage is specified. |
Trading frequency, overnight positions and the withdrawal route all affect costs beyond the spread. The inactivity charge may also matter to clients who fund an account but trade infrequently.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Very High Leverage Comes With Moving Limits
Alpari offers leverage up to 1:3000 on eligible forex and metal combinations, but the maximum varies by instrument and circumstances. Dynamic leverage can fall as position size rises, while jurisdiction or volatility-related margin requirements may reduce the effective limit. Traders using high exposure need to manage margin against the terms for their instrument and account rather than assume the headline ratio will remain available.
A Low Entry Minimum Does Not Cover Every Account
The $30 minimum applies to Micro; Standard starts at $50, and ECN and Pro ECN at $200. Micro is MT4-only and has a different leverage limit from the higher-tier accounts. Those choosing an account for a particular platform or pricing model should compare its minimum and trading conditions, rather than rely on the broker-wide minimum.
International Protections Require Careful Entity Assessment
Alpari’s international offering is associated with MISA and several regulator jurisdictions, but there is no investor compensation scheme. The broker states that it segregates client funds and provides negative balance protection; these measures are distinct from compensation if a firm fails. Clients who require a compensation scheme or a clearly mapped local entity may prefer a different regulatory structure.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micro | MT4 | Spread pricing; spread not separately published here | MT4 supports Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS | Minimum deposit $30; leverage up to 1:500 in the account conditions. | Lower-entry MT4 trading. |
| Standard | MT4 and MT5 | Commission-free; spreads from about 0.3 pips | MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS | Minimum deposit $50; leverage up to 1:1000. | Traders preferring commission-free pricing. |
| ECN | MT4 | Spreads from about 0.1 pips; commission may apply by instrument | MT4 Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS | Minimum deposit $200; leverage up to 1:3000. | MT4 traders seeking ECN execution. |
| Pro ECN | MT4 and MT5 | Spreads from 0.0 pips; commission applies | MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS | Minimum deposit $200; leverage up to 1:3000. | Traders comparing raw spreads with separate commissions. |
Platform-Specific Differences
Alpari’s app is a proprietary mobile trading interface, not a documented user-programmable algorithmic environment. MT4 and MT5 are available on desktop, web and mobile, but full EA development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. MT4 uses MQL4, while MT5 supports MQL5 and its Strategy Tester.
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use the Alpari app or MetaTrader. Automated strategies can run through MT4 or MT5, with VPS hosting available for an always-on setup. Alpari also offers CopyTrade for mirroring strategy managers and PAMM accounts as a managed-investment alternative. API-based automation is associated with the MetaTrader ecosystem; Alpari does not offer a proprietary retail REST API.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
Alpari permits scalping, hedging, news trading and Expert Advisors. Fills may be better or worse than requested, particularly around news and in volatile markets; requotes have also been reported during high-volatility news periods. For major releases, dynamic margin requirements can apply from 12 minutes before until 2 minutes after the event.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:3000 | - | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Indices | 1:1000 | - | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Commodities | 1:3000 | - | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Stocks | 1:10 | - | Share CFDs; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Bonds | - | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:1000 | - | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Other | N/A | - | Not applicable for the stated market/status. |
Leverage affects position sizing and margin: changing limits can increase the margin required to maintain an open position. The asset-level maximums above are not guaranteed for every account or jurisdiction.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
The margin call level is 80%, and the stop-out level is 50%. These thresholds matter alongside dynamic margin requirements, as usable margin can change around major news or as exposure grows.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | MT4 and MT5 support the strategy; ECN and Pro ECN are identified as options for active trading. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Permitted across various account types; hedged positions can still face stop-out if equity falls. |
| News trading | Allowed | Dynamic margin requirements may apply around major releases, and volatility can affect fills. |
| Expert Advisors | Allowed | MT4 and MT5 support algorithmic trading; full development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. |
| API trading | Available through MetaTrader integrations | No proprietary retail REST API; automation can use the MetaTrader ecosystem. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | ≈70 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Indices | ≈20 | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Commodities | ≈20 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Stocks | ≈850 | Share CFDs; no ownership or voting rights | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | ≈50 | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction | The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Other | ≈50 | ETFs, futures, options and other markets | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
Share exposure is through CFDs, not ownership of the underlying shares, and does not confer ownership or voting rights. Bonds are not offered; the other category groups several markets whose contract terms should be assessed instrument by instrument.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
Alpari requires KYC verification before clients can deposit, trade or withdraw. The stated documents are a government-issued identity document and proof of residence; verification is usually completed within one business day. Accounts are not available to residents of the United States, Japan, Canada, North Korea, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Myanmar, India, Azerbaijan, Syria, Sudan and Cuba.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | $10 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | Send BTC only to the Bitcoin address and network shown in the deposit instructions. An incorrectly addressed transfer may be irreversible. |
| Ethereum | $10 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | Send ETH only using the network shown in the deposit instructions. Do not use another Ethereum-compatible or Layer-2 network unless explicitly supported. |
| Fasapay | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | An eligible FasaPay account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Maestro | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant–1 hour | Only existing Maestro cards may be available, and acceptance can be limited. No new Maestro cards have been issued in Europe since July 2023. |
| Mastercard | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant–1 hour | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Skrill | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Tether | $10 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | USDT is available on multiple networks. Use only the network and address shown in the deposit instructions; a network mismatch may result in permanent loss. |
| Visa | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant–1 hour | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| WebMoney | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | about 1 hour | Availability is restricted in some countries. Supported wallets, verification and transaction rules vary by jurisdiction. |
| Wire Transfer | $20 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | 1–5 business days | Use the beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 1 hour broker processing | Use a valid Bitcoin address and supported network; crypto withdrawals are irreversible. |
| Ethereum | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 1 hour broker processing | Use the supported network and receiving address; do not assume other EVM networks are accepted. |
| Fasapay | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Within 1 business day | An eligible FasaPay account is required; country, verification and limits apply. |
| Maestro | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Method-specific in MyAlpari | This is a legacy card brand; availability depends on the broker and issuer of the existing card. |
| Mastercard | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Method-specific in MyAlpari | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Within 1 business day | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Skrill | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Within 1 business day | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Tether | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 1 hour broker processing | USDT uses multiple networks; choose a supported network or funds may be lost. |
| Visa | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Method-specific in MyAlpari | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| WebMoney | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Within 1 business day | Availability is restricted in some countries; wallet, verification and limits vary by jurisdiction. |
| Wire Transfer | No broker minimum ($0) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Typically 2–7 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Processing times and charges depend on the selected route, and bank or payment-provider fees may apply in addition to broker charges. General withdrawal information gives method-dependent fees; the MyAlpari payment quote shows the current method-specific charge.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contact Form | Contact form | Not listed | Human follow-up / asynchronous | Languages not listed. |
| Phone | +44 2045 771 951 | Technical support 24/7; general support hours not listed | Human / agent-assisted | Languages not listed. |
| Chatbot | Chatbot | Not listed | Automated / chatbot | Languages not listed. |
Customer feedback points to difficulties resolving cases that need hands-on support, particularly when communication is unclear or issues involve deposits or funding. Other users report helpful funding assistance and technical support, so experiences vary.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market context and scheduled events | Market Analysis, Market News, Economic Calendar | Market Analysis: Alpari. Market News and Economic Calendar: FXStreet. | A universal public-versus-login access rule is not specified; availability can vary by entity and platform. | Commentary and news coverage can vary; the calendar covers scheduled macro events, not unscheduled developments. |
| Trade ideas and signals | Trading Ideas, Trading Signals | Trading Ideas: Alpari / integrated analytics; exact provider not identified. Trading Signals: Autochartist. | Access may require the relevant broker or platform account; requirements vary by entity, account tier and platform. | Ideas and signals cover selected instruments and timeframes, may expire quickly and are not personalised advice. |
| Charts and price analysis | Price Charts | MetaTrader / Alpari platform | Available through supported trading platforms; access depends on platform and account eligibility. | Chart depth depends on timeframe, data feed and platform features. |
| Structured learning and help | Alpari Academy, Help Centre, educational articles | Alpari | Access conditions are not specified. | Learning resources are available, but the depth and coverage of individual topics are not specified. |
Who Alpari Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Lower-capital MetaTrader trader | The Micro account has a $30 minimum deposit and MT4 access. | Micro has its own leverage conditions and does not support MT5. |
| Active trader comparing spread and commission pricing | Standard offers commission-free pricing, while ECN and Pro ECN have separate spread-and-commission routes. | Instrument commissions and spread measures differ; a quoted average is not a guaranteed account-specific cost. |
| Systematic trader using MetaTrader automation | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, and VPS hosting is available. | Full development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric; there is no proprietary retail REST API. |
| Investor seeking managed or copied trading | Alpari offers CopyTrade and PAMM accounts. | Copying or managed trading does not remove market risk, and strategy performance is not guaranteed. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Country eligibility and entity Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Alpari excludes the United States, Japan, Canada, North Korea, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Myanmar, India, Azerbaijan, Syria, Sudan and Cuba. Confirm which legal entity will hold the account and what protections apply.
Account minimum Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Minimums differ by account: $30 for Micro, $50 for Standard, and $200 for ECN and Pro ECN.
Leverage and margin Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Maximum leverage depends on instrument, account, jurisdiction and position size; dynamic margin requirements may also apply around major news.
Withdrawal costs and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Fees and processing times depend on the payment route. Review the current MyAlpari withdrawal quote and allow for possible bank or provider charges.
FxFind's Assessment on Alpari
Alpari combines MT4 and MT5 access, several account-pricing routes and high maximum leverage, with a $30 entry point on Micro. Traders can choose an account based on platform and trading style, though the terms differ across the available setups.
The trade-offs are significant: leverage can change with exposure and market conditions, account minimums and costs differ, and the international structure has no investor compensation scheme. The offering is relevant to MetaTrader users who can manage margin and assess the protections attached to their contracting entity. Traders who require a clearly mapped local regulatory entity, a compensation scheme or a fixed, easily compared all-in trading cost may find another broker structure more suitable.
Review method: This assessment uses Alpari’s product and account information, payment and platform specifications, asset reference data, and FxFind category scores; it does not claim first-hand testing. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About Alpari
What is Alpari’s minimum deposit?
The minimum is $30 for a Micro account, $50 for Standard, and $200 for ECN or Pro ECN. The required amount therefore depends on the account.
What is the maximum leverage at Alpari?
Forex and commodities are shown with maximum retail leverage of 1:3000, while indices and cryptocurrencies reach 1:1000 and stocks 1:10. These are maximums, not guaranteed account-wide limits; exposure, volatility, account and jurisdiction can affect available leverage.
Does Alpari offer investor compensation?
No investor compensation scheme is available. Alpari states that it segregates client funds and provides negative balance protection, but neither measure is a compensation scheme.
Which trading platforms does Alpari support?
Alpari offers its own mobile app and MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5. Micro and ECN are MT4 accounts; Standard and Pro ECN support MT4 and MT5. Full Expert Advisor development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric.
Does Alpari charge withdrawal fees?
Fees depend on the withdrawal method. Bank transfers can cost up to $30 per transaction, and a flat $3 fee applies to withdrawals below $30. MyAlpari shows the current method-specific quote.
Does Alpari allow scalping and news trading?
Yes. Alpari allows scalping and news trading, but dynamic margin requirements can apply from 12 minutes before until 2 minutes after major news releases. Volatility can also affect fills.
Which countries are restricted from opening an Alpari account?
Alpari lists the United States, Japan, Canada, North Korea, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Myanmar, India, Azerbaijan, Syria, Sudan and Cuba as restricted countries.