The ATFX Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | MT4, MT5 and AT GO are available, alongside Standard and lower-spread Edge pricing routes. |
| Main limitation | Terms and protections depend on the legal entity and region; the UK entity serves professional clients only. |
| Most natural fit | Beginner and intermediate traders seeking platform choice and regional regulatory oversight. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Standard or Edge on MT4 or MT5; Edge spreads start from 0.0 pips plus commission. AT GO is mobile-only. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.36/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 8.5 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.5 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.5 |
| Tradable Instruments | 8.0 |
| Setup | 8.5 |
| Account Opening | 8.8 |
| Customer Support | 8.0 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.5 |
| Market Research and Education | 7.5 |
The central question is whether the available pricing route and legal entity match your trading needs and protection requirements. Platform choice does not resolve differences in account terms.
Pros
-
MT4 and MT5 are available on desktop, web and mobile, with desktop automation support; AT GO is a mobile-only alternative.
-
Edge spreads start from 0.0 pips, while Standard pricing includes published average spreads for several instruments.
-
Client funds are segregated and negative balance protection is available; compensation eligibility depends on the entity and client.
Cons
-
Minimum-deposit terms differ across account descriptions and regions.
-
The UK FCA entity serves professional clients only.
-
Withdrawal charges can apply below specified amounts, and inactivity fees apply under some entity rules.
ATFX by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australia | AT Global Markets (Australia) Pty Ltd | ASIC | 418036 | Australian retail CFD rules apply to retail clients, including leverage limits, margin close-out and negative-balance protections. Professional-client treatment differs. |
| EEA / Cyprus | ATFX Global Markets (Cy) Ltd | CySEC | 285/15 | The Cyprus/EEA MiFID framework applies. Retail leverage and product rules, investor protections and complaint arrangements differ from those under offshore entities; compensation depends on the entity and client. |
| United Kingdom — professional clients only | AT Global Markets (UK) Limited | FCA | 760555 | The UK FCA entity serves professional clients, not ordinary retail clients. Retail protections should not be assumed for clients classified as professional. |
| International / Seychelles entity (subject to exclusions) | AT Global Ltd | FSA (Seychelles) | SD093 | The local Seychelles framework applies. UK, EU and Australian retail protections and compensation schemes do not automatically apply; leverage, products and dispute routes may differ. |
| International / Mauritius entity (subject to exclusions) | AT Global Markets Intl Ltd | FSC (Mauritius) | C118023331 | The local Mauritius framework applies. UK, EU and Australian retail protections and compensation schemes do not automatically apply; leverage, products and dispute routes may differ. |
| South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity) | AT Global Markets SA (Pty) Ltd | FSCA | 44816 | The South African FSCA framework applies. Protections and product terms can differ depending on whether the entity is the product issuer or an intermediary. |
| Hong Kong | AT Global Financial Services (HK) Limited | SFC | BUM667 | Hong Kong SFC rules apply. Product scope and investor-compensation eligibility depend on licensed activities and the products traded. |
Protection by Entity
ATFX reports that it segregates client funds and provides negative balance protection. Eligible clients may also qualify for compensation under the relevant entity: this can include FSCS investment protection up to £85,000 in the UK and Cyprus ICF protection up to €20,000, subject to eligibility. These arrangements should not be assumed to cover clients of offshore entities.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD — Standard | Broker-reported average: 1.8 pips | No separate commission highlighted for Standard | Standard account pricing. |
| GBP/USD — Standard | Broker-reported average: 2 pips | No separate commission highlighted for Standard | Standard account pricing. |
| EUR/USD — Edge | Advertised from 0.0 pips | Commission applies; rate not specified here | Edge pricing and eligibility vary by region. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) — Standard | Broker-reported average: 0.38 points | No separate commission highlighted for Standard | Standard account average is also described as about 38 pips ($0.38). |
| S&P 500 CFD — Standard | Broker-reported average: 0.56 points | No separate commission highlighted for Standard | Standard account pricing. |
Edge combines a lower advertised spread with commission; Standard publishes average spreads without a separate commission highlighted. Comparing the routes requires the applicable Edge commission and the same instrument and trade size.
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Swap fees | Overnight swap fees apply. |
| Leaving an account inactive | Monthly inactivity fee | After six consecutive months without trading, deposits or withdrawals, fees apply. Examples include $10 (€10 / £10) monthly until activity resumes or the balance reaches zero; entity-specific schedules also include R30/$2 monthly after six months in South Africa and $10 AUD/USD/GBP/EUR monthly after six months in Australia. |
| Withdrawing funds | Possible withdrawal fee | Structured payment terms show no fee for withdrawals of at least 100 EUR/USD/GBP or a full-balance withdrawal; otherwise, the fee is 5 EUR/USD/GBP. Entity and payment-route terms can differ. |
| Using a different account currency | Currency conversion fee | Currency conversion fees apply. |
Trading frequency, holding time and payment choices all contribute to total cost. Consider the Edge commission and withdrawal threshold alongside the spread, not in isolation.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Lower Edge Spreads Come With Commission
Edge spreads start from 0.0 pips, but commission also applies, and the rate is not specified here. Active traders comparing spread-led pricing need the applicable commission to calculate total cost. Standard provides a published average-spread reference.
Regulatory Coverage Depends on the Contracting Entity
ATFX operates through entities under different regulatory frameworks, and its UK FCA company serves professional clients only. Retail clients routed elsewhere may face different leverage limits, dispute routes and compensation eligibility. The contracting company is therefore an important part of the decision.
Platform Breadth Does Not Mean Identical Automation on Every Device
MT4 and MT5 support desktop automation, while their web and mobile clients are primarily for trading and monitoring. AT GO is a mobile app, not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine. Traders using custom strategies need a desktop or VPS-based MetaTrader setup rather than a mobile-only workflow.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | MT4 / MT5 / ATFX Trader | From about 0.6 pips; no separate commission highlighted | MT4 EAs and MT5 EAs are supported on desktop/VPS | Minimum-deposit terms vary: account conditions give $100, while other Standard terms specify a $500 initial deposit. | Traders who prefer spread-based pricing and use MetaTrader or ATFX Trader. |
| Edge | MT4 / MT5 / ATFX Trader | From 0.0 pips plus commission | MT4 EAs and MT5 EAs are supported on desktop/VPS | A $100 minimum is stated for some regions; eligibility and thresholds vary. | Traders comparing lower spreads with commission pricing. |
| Premium | MT4 / MT5 / ATFX Trader | Not consistently published as a current global standalone tier | MT4 EAs and MT5 EAs are supported on desktop/VPS | Regional or legacy label; the current public lineup varies by ATFX entity. | Clients whose regional account offering includes this tier. |
Platform-Specific Differences
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Yes — MT4 WebTrader | Yes — desktop terminal | Yes — iOS/Android | Expert Advisors (MQL4) on desktop/VPS | Full MQL4/EAs and custom-script functionality are desktop/VPS-centric; browser and mobile clients lack the full desktop automation environment. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Yes — MT5 WebTerminal | Yes — desktop terminal | Yes — iOS/Android | Expert Advisors (MQL5), Strategy Tester and MQL5 automation on desktop/VPS | Full EA/custom-code development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric; browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring. |
| AT GO | No — as named mobile app | No — as named mobile app | Yes — iOS/Android | Not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine | Mobile-specific proprietary app; custom algorithmic trading is better documented through MetaTrader. |
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use AT GO on iOS or Android, or MT4 and MT5 on desktop, web and mobile. Automated strategies can run in the documented EA environment on MT4 or MT5 desktop/VPS. ATFX also offers copy trading, social trading, API trading and VPS hosting, but the specific account and access conditions for those tools are not detailed here.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
ATFX is classified as an STP broker. Slippage can be favorable or unfavorable in volatile or fast-moving markets, so quoted spreads do not eliminate the possibility of a different execution price in those conditions.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:500 | - | International product specifications; leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument. |
| Indices | 1:100 | - | International product specifications; leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument. |
| Commodities | 1:500 | - | International product specifications; leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument. |
| Stocks | 1:10 | - | International product specifications; leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument. |
| Bonds | - | - | Not offered. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:10 | - | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction; leverage can also vary by account type, position size and instrument. |
| Other | 1:10 | - | International product specifications; leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument. |
These figures are product specifications, not a single global leverage promise. The applicable limit may change with the entity, account, position size and instrument. The broker’s cited global account information gives leverage up to 1:400 for Standard and Edge, while regulated-entity limits can differ.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
For standard retail accounts, the margin-call level is 100% and the stop-out level is 50%. Institutional/default setups use a 110% margin-call level, while institutional setups use a 100% stop-out level.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Hedging | Allowed | Supported without restrictions. |
| Scalping | Allowed | Supported without restrictions. |
| News trading | Allowed | Supported without restrictions. |
| Algorithmic trading | Supported through MT4 / MT5 desktop and VPS | MT4 EAs use MQL4; MT5 supports MQL5 EAs and Strategy Tester. Full custom-code functionality is desktop/VPS-centric. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 44 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
| Indices | 15+ | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
| Commodities | 11 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
| Stocks | ≈250 | Share CFDs; no ownership or voting rights | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | 11 | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
| Other | ≈23 | ETFs, futures, options and other markets | Leverage can vary by legal entity, account type, position size and instrument; use the cited schedule for exact symbol-level conditions. |
Stocks are offered as CFDs, which confer no ownership or voting rights. Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction; bonds are not offered.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
ATFX requires KYC verification. The available account types are Standard, Edge and Premium, with eligibility and current terms set by the regional entity. ATFX lists Afghanistan, Bouvet Island, Catalonia, the Isle of Man, Israel, Kazakhstan, Lesotho, the Northern Mariana Islands, San Marino, Uganda, the United States, Vanuatu and Yemen as restricted locations.
Minimum deposits are not uniform: a general minimum of $100 is given, Standard account terms also specify a $500 initial deposit, and Edge accounts may start at $100 depending on region. Account conditions also give $100 as the Standard minimum, so establish the applicable threshold for the specific account and entity before funding.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mastercard | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Within 30 minutes | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Within 30 minutes | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Skrill | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Within 30 minutes | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Visa | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Within 30 minutes | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Within 1 working day after receipt | Use the beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mastercard | $5 (ATFX Cambodia; other entities may differ) | Free for ≥100 EUR/USD/GBP or full-balance withdrawal, otherwise 5 EUR/USD/GBP | Broker processing: 1 working day; final receipt depends on bank/payment provider | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | $5 (ATFX Cambodia; other entities may differ) | Free for ≥100 EUR/USD/GBP or full-balance withdrawal, otherwise 5 EUR/USD/GBP | Broker processing: 1 working day; final receipt depends on bank/payment provider | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Skrill | $5 (ATFX Cambodia; other entities may differ) | Free for ≥100 EUR/USD/GBP or full-balance withdrawal, otherwise 5 EUR/USD/GBP | Broker processing: 1 working day; final receipt depends on bank/payment provider | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Visa | $5 (ATFX Cambodia; other entities may differ) | Free for ≥100 EUR/USD/GBP or full-balance withdrawal, otherwise 5 EUR/USD/GBP | Broker processing: 1 working day; final receipt depends on bank/payment provider | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $5 (ATFX Cambodia; other entities may differ) | Free for ≥100 EUR/USD/GBP or full-balance withdrawal, otherwise 5 EUR/USD/GBP | Broker processing: 1 working day; final receipt depends on bank/payment provider | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Withdrawals are returned through the original payment methods. The broker-side deposit fee is zero, but wire intermediaries, payment providers and currency conversion may add costs. Broker processing and final receipt are separate stages; final timing depends on the bank or payment provider.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Live Chat | 24/5 | Human / agent-assisted | 13 languages, including English, Cantonese, Mandarin, Spanish, Italian, German, Arabic, Vietnamese and Thai; live support. |
| Messages accepted 24/7; staffed 24/5 | Human / agent-assisted | 13 languages, including English, Cantonese, Mandarin, Spanish, Italian, German, Arabic, Vietnamese and Thai; verification may be required. | ||
| Phone | Phone | 24/5 | Human / agent-assisted | 13 languages, including English, Cantonese, Mandarin, Spanish, Italian, German, Arabic, Vietnamese and Thai; regional availability varies. |
ATFX lists [email protected] and +44 203 957 7777 as contact details. Customer feedback includes praise for practical, helpful guidance and professional, polite service, though individual experiences may differ.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Follow scheduled economic events | Economic Calendar | ATFX economic calendar; underlying data vendor not identified | Full-access and login requirements are not specified universally and may vary by entity or platform. | Scheduled macro events with actual, forecast and previous data; it does not capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event. |
| Track market developments | Market News | ATFX news feed; external news vendor not identified | Access rules are not specified universally and may vary by entity or platform. | Headline feed; coverage, latency and provider mix vary and may not include every relevant source. |
| Read market commentary | Market Analysis; Market Forecasts | ATFX first-party content | Access rules are not specified universally and may vary by entity or platform. | Analysis may include qualitative or technical commentary. Coverage and frequency vary; forecasts are uncertain and do not guarantee future prices. |
| Build trading knowledge | Trading Tools & Skills Guide; webinars; seminars; trading education | ATFX | Free online education; account holders can access seminars, webinars, the Trading Academy and trading tools. | Coverage, depth and update frequency vary by topic/resource; the material is informational rather than personalised advice. |
Who ATFX Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Beginner or intermediate trader comparing platform workflows | ATFX offers MT4, MT5 and the AT GO mobile app, as well as trading education and a demo account. | Account minimums and legal protections depend on the regional entity and account terms. |
| Active trader weighing spread-led pricing | Edge spreads start from 0.0 pips plus commission, and scalping is allowed without restrictions. | The applicable commission rate is needed to compare total cost with Standard pricing. |
| System trader using MetaTrader automation | MT4 and MT5 support EAs on desktop/VPS; MT5 also offers Strategy Tester. | Full custom-code development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric; browser and mobile clients do not provide a full automation environment. |
| Retail client prioritizing local protections | ATFX has regulated entities in several jurisdictions, including Australia, Cyprus, Hong Kong and South Africa. | The UK FCA entity serves professional clients only, and offshore entities do not automatically provide UK, EU or Australian retail protections. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Contracting entity Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Establish which ATFX company will hold your account; regulation, leverage, product access and compensation eligibility depend on the entity and client classification.
Minimum deposit Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Confirm the account-specific threshold before depositing: Standard terms include both $100 and $500 figures, while Edge may start at $100 depending on region.
Edge commission Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Obtain the applicable commission rate before comparing Edge's spreads from 0.0 pips with Standard pricing.
Withdrawal charges Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Check the withdrawal fee threshold and regional minimum; structured terms show fees may apply below 100 EUR/USD/GBP unless withdrawing the full balance.
Inactivity fee Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Check your entity's fee schedule if you expect to leave the account without trading, deposits or withdrawals for six consecutive months.
FxFind's Assessment on ATFX
ATFX offers several trading platforms and account pricing routes through regulatory entities in multiple markets. MT4 and MT5 provide a desktop/VPS environment for automated strategies, while AT GO is a mobile-only alternative.
The main trade-offs concern account structure and cost. The entity determines protections and product conditions, the UK company serves professional clients only, and minimum deposits are not stated consistently across account terms. Edge’s 0.0-pip starting spread also comes with commission, so the spread alone does not show the total cost. Beginner and intermediate traders who value platform choice and can identify an appropriate regional entity may find the setup relevant. Those requiring a particular local protection regime, or fully specified all-in pricing before choosing an account, may prefer a structure with clearer terms for those needs.
Review method: This assessment draws on broker product and payment specifications, regulatory-register details, and FxFind category scores; it does not claim first-hand testing. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About ATFX
Which ATFX entity would serve a UK retail client?
AT Global Markets (UK) Limited, regulated by the FCA, serves professional clients only, not ordinary retail clients. The entity available to a retail client depends on the client’s location and ATFX’s routing arrangements; UK retail protections should not be assumed if the account is held elsewhere.
What is ATFX’s minimum deposit?
ATFX gives a general minimum of $100, but account terms also specify a $500 initial deposit for Standard accounts and $100 for Edge accounts depending on region. The account conditions separately give $100 as a Standard minimum, so the applicable threshold depends on the account and entity.
Does ATFX charge commission?
Edge spreads start from 0.0 pips plus commission. Standard pricing has published average spreads, with no separate commission highlighted, but the Edge commission rate is not specified here.
What withdrawal fees does ATFX charge?
Structured withdrawal terms show no fee for withdrawals of at least 100 EUR/USD/GBP or for a full-balance withdrawal; otherwise, the fee is 5 EUR/USD/GBP. Entity and payment-route terms may differ, and intermediary or provider charges may also apply.
Can I automate trades on ATFX?
MT4 supports MQL4 Expert Advisors, while MT5 supports MQL5 Expert Advisors and Strategy Tester on desktop/VPS. Browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring. AT GO is a mobile app, not a documented user-programmable algorithmic engine.
Which markets are not available at ATFX?
Bonds are marked as not offered. Stocks are available as share CFDs, which provide no ownership or voting rights, and cryptocurrency access varies by entity and jurisdiction.
Does ATFX offer a demo or Islamic account?
Yes. ATFX offers a free demo account with virtual money and an Islamic account on request. The swap-free account may be subject to administration or holding fees on extended positions.
What inactivity fees can apply?
Inactivity charges apply after six consecutive months without trading, deposits or withdrawals. One stated schedule is $10 (€10 / £10) monthly until activity resumes or the balance reaches zero; entity-specific examples include different charges for Australia and South Africa.