The HF Markets Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | Cent, Premium, Pro and Zero accounts, alongside MT4, MT5, HFM platforms and copy trading. |
| Main limitation | Leverage, account conditions and eligibility depend substantially on the client’s jurisdiction and contracting entity. |
| Most natural fit | Forex and CFD traders comparing account pricing, including newer traders and those interested in copy trading. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Commission-free Cent, Premium or Pro accounts, or the commission-based Zero account; MT4 and MT5 support desktop automation. |
| FxFind Rating | Not independently verified |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | Not scored |
| Fees and Commissions | Not scored |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | Not scored |
| Tradable Instruments | Not scored |
| Setup | Not scored |
| Account Opening | Not scored |
| Customer Support | Not scored |
| Trading Conditions | Not scored |
| Market Research and Education | Not scored |
The account and platform choices are most relevant to traders who understand the entity-specific limits and the difference between spread-only and commission-based pricing.
Pros
-
Four main account types, including a commission-based Zero account and a Cent account.
-
MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS environments.
-
Copy trading is available, with controls for followers to set allocation and risk parameters.
-
Demo and Islamic account options are available.
Cons
-
Leverage and some account terms vary substantially by jurisdiction and client status.
-
A $5 monthly inactivity fee applies after six months and increases with longer inactivity.
-
Customer feedback includes recurring concerns about funding support and unclear case resolution.
HF Markets by Client Region and Legal Entity
Regulation and Client Protection
HFM operates in Cyprus, the United Kingdom, South Africa, Kenya, Seychelles and Mauritius. Its stated regulators are CySEC, FCA, FSCA, CMA, FSA and FSC. The entity serving an account determines the applicable protections and trading limits.
HFM segregates client funds and offers negative balance protection. Eligible retail clients of HF Markets (Europe) Ltd are covered by the Cyprus Investor Compensation Fund up to €20,000 per person. This compensation provision applies to eligible clients of that entity; it is not a universal HFM guarantee.
Corporate Transparency and Ownership
HF Markets was founded in 2010 and is not publicly traded.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
HFM uses floating spreads and offers both spread-only pricing and raw spreads with commission. The figures below are not directly comparable: average spread figures and advertised account minimums are different measures.
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EURUSD | Broker-reported average: 1.4 pips | Account-dependent; Zero charges $3 per side per lot on forex pairs. | The account associated with this average is not specified. |
| GBPUSD | Broker-reported average: 1.6 pips | Account-dependent; Zero charges $3 per side per lot on forex pairs. | The account associated with this average is not specified. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 25 pips | Not publicly specified as a fixed figure; check the broker’s current contract specification or live trading platform. | Commission terms for this instrument are not specified. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.75 points | Not publicly specified as a fixed figure; check the broker’s current contract specification or live trading platform. | Commission terms for this instrument are not specified. |
Cent, Premium and Pro accounts are commission-free. Zero offers spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $3 per side per lot on forex pairs, or $6 round-turn per lot. The Pro account’s cited GBPUSD spread is from 0.6 pips; Cent and Premium cite 1.4 pips. These are account-specific figures, not average-spread observations.
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Swap or carry charges | Standard rollover charges generally apply after 00:00 server time. Swap-free conditions are available on selected instruments and for eligible clients; some instruments may incur carry charges after several days. |
| Leaving an account inactive | $5 per month initially | Fees begin after more than six months without financial activity and rise with longer inactivity. |
| Withdrawing funds | Third-party fees may apply | HFM does not charge an internal withdrawal fee, but payment providers or banks may charge separately. |
| Funding or withdrawing in another currency | Third-party conversion costs may apply | HFM does not charge currency conversion fees for account funding or withdrawals; banks and payment processors may apply their own charges or markups. |
| Depositing by bank wire | Sending or correspondent bank fees may apply | HFM charges no deposit fee. Sending and intermediary banks may still deduct fees. |
Trading frequency, overnight holding and inactivity all affect costs alongside the quoted spread. Forex traders comparing accounts should include the separate Zero commission in their all-in cost.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
High International Leverage Has a Lower Retail Limit in the UK and EU
Some accounts under HF Markets (SV) Ltd offer leverage up to 1:2000, while UK and EU retail clients are capped at 1:30 on major currency pairs. Limits also vary by asset class, and offshore leverage can scale down as account equity increases. The headline maximum applies only where the client’s entity, status and instrument permit it. Traders seeking a consistent retail leverage limit should compare the terms of their specific entity.
Raw Spreads Involve a Separate Commission
The Zero account advertises spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $3 per side per lot on forex pairs. Cent, Premium and Pro are commission-free, with costs reflected in floating spreads. Compare both components for the expected trade size and instrument rather than relying on the spread headline alone.
Copy Trading Requires a Dedicated Account
Followers can select Strategy Providers, set allocation limits and risk parameters, and stop copying. The follower minimum deposit is $25, and copy trading requires a dedicated account. It is a separate option for users who want to replicate another trader’s positions, not simply a setting within one of the four main account types.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cent | MT4, MT5, HFM WebTrader, HFM Platform | Commission-free; floating spreads. GBPUSD spread cited from 1.4 pips. | MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS. | Minimum deposit depends on entity; no fixed minimum is specified for the current global page. | Traders seeking cent contract sizing. |
| Premium | MT4, MT5, HFM WebTrader, HFM Platform | Commission-free; floating spreads. GBPUSD spread cited from 1.4 pips. | MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS. | No minimum deposit on the current global page; conditions can depend on entity. | Manual trading with spread-based pricing. |
| Pro | MT4, MT5, HFM WebTrader, HFM Platform | Commission-free; GBPUSD spread cited from 0.6 pips. | MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS. | $100 minimum deposit; entity-dependent conditions may apply. | Traders comparing a commission-free account with a lower cited GBPUSD spread. |
| Zero | MT4, MT5, HFM WebTrader, HFM Platform | Spreads from 0.0 pips; forex commission of $3 per side per lot. | MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS. | Minimum deposit depends on entity. | Forex traders comparing raw spreads with explicit commission. |
Platform-Specific Differences
MT4 and MT5 are available on desktop, web and mobile. Their full Expert Advisor and custom-code environments are centred on desktop or VPS; browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring. HFM’s proprietary platform and app provide broker-built account and trading interfaces, while the HFM App also integrates copy trading. FIX API connectivity is available for advanced or institutional use and typically requires specialised setup.
Practical Setup Assessment
- Manual trading: MT4, MT5, WebTrader and HFM’s own platform offer desktop, browser or mobile access, depending on the platform.
- Automated trading: MT4 Expert Advisors and MT5 Expert Advisors are supported on desktop or VPS. VPS hosting may be free for qualifying accounts or available through paid packages.
- Copy trading: Followers use a dedicated Copy Trading account and can set allocation limits and risk parameters.
- API connectivity: FIX API is aimed at demanding clients, professional accounts or users with significant trading volume; it requires specialised setup.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
HFM uses market execution, which can result in positive or negative slippage. Scalping, hedging, news trading and automated strategies using Expert Advisors on MT4 and MT5 are allowed. Volatility around news releases can widen spreads and affect execution prices.
Leverage
Maximum leverage reaches 1:2000 for certain accounts under HF Markets (SV) Ltd, subject to asset-specific limits. UK and EU retail clients face lower regulatory caps; professional clients in those jurisdictions can request leverage up to 1:400 if they qualify. Offshore maximum leverage may also scale down as account equity rises.
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not separately specified. | Not published as a single universal figure for this market. | No separate current public figure was verified. | Instrument, account type, legal entity, position size and the broker’s current margin schedule. |
For UK and EU retail clients, stated limits are 1:30 for major currency pairs; 1:20 for minor and exotic pairs, gold and major indices; 1:10 for other commodities; 1:2 for cryptocurrencies; and 1:5 for individual equities. International limits can be higher and vary by asset.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
HFM’s margin call level is 50%, and its stop-out level is 20%.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | MT4 and MT5 Expert Advisors are also permitted. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Buy and sell positions can be held on the same asset across MT4 and MT5. |
| News trading | Allowed | High volatility can widen spreads and cause slippage. |
| Expert Advisors | Allowed | MT4 and MT5 automation is supported; full custom-code functionality is desktop- or VPS-centric. |
| FIX API trading | Available for advanced or institutional use | Typically requires a professional or specialised account setup and significant trading volume. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | Not publicly specified as a stable total. | Available to trade as CFDs. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
| Commodities | Not publicly specified as a stable total. | Available to trade as CFDs. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
| Indices | Not publicly specified as a stable total. | Includes an S&P 500 CFD spread figure. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
| Cryptocurrencies | Not publicly specified as a stable total. | Available to trade as CFDs. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
| Stocks | Not publicly specified as a stable total. | Stock CFDs are included among the tradeable markets. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
HFM requires KYC verification for live accounts and withdrawals. Account activation typically requires proof of identity, such as a valid passport, national ID card or driver’s licence, and proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement dated within the previous six months. HFM excludes clients from a range of countries, including the United States, Canada, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Syria, Myanmar, Yemen, Angola, Sudan, Libya, Uganda, the Central African Republic, Eritrea, the Republic of Congo, Belarus, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Vanuatu, Cuba, Laos, Nicaragua, the United Arab Emirates and Turkey.
Minimum deposits depend on account type: Cent, Premium and Zero have no stated minimum on the current global terms; Pro requires $100; a Copy Trading follower account requires $25; and InfinityX requires $500. Regional conditions and payment processors may impose their own minimums.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | Send BTC only to the Bitcoin address and network shown in the deposit instructions. Incorrectly sent transfers may be irreversible. |
| Ethereum | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | Send ETH only using the network shown in the deposit instructions. Do not use another Ethereum-compatible or Layer-2 network unless explicitly supported. |
| Fasapay | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | An eligible FasaPay account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Mastercard | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Up to 10 minutes | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Skrill | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Tether | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Instant–10 minutes | USDT is available on multiple networks. Use only the exact network and address shown in the deposit instructions; a network mismatch may result in permanent loss. |
| Visa | $0 | No broker deposit fee | Up to 10 minutes | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $0 | No HFM fee for deposits over $100, sending/correspondent bank fees may apply | 2–7 business days | Use the exact beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending alternative method | Use a valid Bitcoin address and supported network; crypto withdrawals are irreversible. |
| Ethereum | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending alternative method | Use the exact supported network and receiving address; do not assume other EVM networks are accepted. |
| Fasapay | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending method | An eligible FasaPay account is required; country, verification and limits apply. |
| Mastercard | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 2–10 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending method | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Skrill | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending method | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Tether | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Instant to 24 hours depending alternative method | USDT uses multiple networks; choose the exact supported network or funds may be lost. |
| Visa | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 2–10 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $5 (reliable third-party reported) | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | About 2–10 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
HFM requires account verification for withdrawals. Processing times depend on the payment method: card and e-wallet deposits range from instant to 10 minutes, while bank transfers can take 2–7 business days. Card withdrawals generally take 2–10 business days; crypto and e-wallet payouts are typically completed within 24 hours, subject to the method-specific terms above. Wire transfers and payment providers may charge their own fees.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Live chat | 24/5 customer support | Human / agent-assisted | 20+ languages |
| [email protected] | Messages 24/7; customer 24/5 | Human / agent-assisted | 20+ languages; asynchronous | |
| Phone | +44-203 097 85 71 | 24/5 customer support | Human / agent-assisted | 20+ languages; phone and language coverage may vary by region |
Customer feedback includes recurring concerns about deposit and funding support, as well as unclear communication. Some customers report helpful guidance and prompt responses, while others raise concerns about resolving account or funding issues that require follow-up.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market context and scheduled events | Market Analysis, Economic Calendar, Market News | HFM | Public analysis and news are available; calendar access varies by route. | Commentary coverage and publishing frequency vary. The calendar covers scheduled macro events, not every unscheduled market-moving event. |
| Technical scanning | Autochartist | Autochartist | Free to HFM clients; MT4/MT5 installation. | Automated pattern recognition and volatility scanning are limited to supported instruments and patterns. |
| Sentiment indicators | Market Sentiment, Advanced Insights / Trader’s Board | HFM | Client access for Advanced Insights / Trader’s Board. | Positioning, news and social-derived indicators may be limited by sample size, source coverage and update cadence. |
| Trade calculations | Trading Calculators | HFM | HFM website or client tools; access varies by calculator. | Margin, pip value, swap or risk calculations are indicative; final trading costs can differ. |
| Learning | Education Centre, courses, webinars and podcasts | HFM | Access conditions are not stated as a single universal rule; availability may vary by account, platform, region or login status. | Coverage, depth and update frequency vary by topic/resource; the material is informational rather than personalised advice. |
Who HF Markets Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Newer traders comparing account formats | The Cent account uses cent contract sizing, and demo accounts are available. | Leverage and minimum-deposit terms vary by entity and account type. |
| Forex traders comparing spread-only and commission pricing | Cent, Premium and Pro are commission-free, while Zero offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a separate forex commission. | Average instrument spreads and account-specific spread figures are different measures; compare the full cost of the chosen account. |
| Algorithmic traders using MetaTrader | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors on desktop or VPS, and eligible clients can access VPS hosting. | Full custom-code functionality is desktop- or VPS-centric; VPS access may require deposit and trading-volume thresholds or a paid package. |
| Investors interested in copying strategies | Followers can select Strategy Providers and set allocation and risk parameters. | Copy trading requires a dedicated account and a $25 minimum deposit for followers. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Eligible country and contracting entity Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
HFM excludes clients in specified countries. The entity serving your account determines applicable protections and trading limits, so confirm eligibility and entity assignment before registering.
Account minimums Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Cent, Premium and Zero have no stated minimum on the current global terms; Pro requires $100, Copy Trading followers $25, and InfinityX $500. Regional or payment-provider minimums can differ.
Leverage limits Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
The maximum of 1:2000 applies only to certain accounts and jurisdictions. UK and EU retail clients face lower asset-specific caps, and offshore leverage can scale down as equity rises.
Withdrawal route and charges Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Withdrawal minimums and provider fees vary by method. Check the current client-area quote, and use the exact supported address and network for crypto transfers.
Inactivity charges Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
A monthly fee begins after more than six months without financial activity and increases with longer inactivity. Review the schedule if the account may remain unused.
FxFind's Assessment on HF Markets
HF Markets offers a choice of four main account types, MT4 or MT5, copy trading and a proprietary mobile platform. Its pricing includes both commission-free accounts and a Zero account with raw spreads and a separate forex commission. Comparing the full account-specific cost is more useful than relying on the spread headline alone.
The main trade-off is variation in terms. The maximum 1:2000 leverage is not a universal retail limit, and UK and EU clients face substantially lower caps. Minimum deposits and protections also depend on account and entity. The setup is most relevant to forex and CFD traders who are comfortable comparing these conditions, particularly those interested in MetaTrader automation or copy trading. Traders seeking a uniform leverage regime, consistent account terms across regions, or a simpler funding and support experience may find the structure less suitable.
Review method: This assessment draws on broker product and pricing information, regulatory and protection details, structured platform and support information, and customer-feedback themes. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About HF Markets
What is the minimum deposit for HF Markets?
Cent, Premium and Zero have no stated minimum deposit on the current global terms. Pro requires $100, a Copy Trading follower account requires $25, and InfinityX requires $500. Regional conditions or payment processors may impose other minimums.
Can HF Markets offer leverage of 1:2000?
Leverage up to 1:2000 is available for certain accounts under HF Markets (SV) Ltd, subject to jurisdiction, asset and account-equity conditions. UK and EU retail clients face lower limits, including 1:30 on major currency pairs.
How does the Zero account charge commission?
The Zero account advertises spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $3 per side per lot on forex pairs, equivalent to $6 round-turn per lot. Cent, Premium and Pro accounts are commission-free, with costs reflected in floating spreads.
Does HF Markets allow automated trading and scalping?
Yes. HFM allows scalping and Expert Advisors on MT4 and MT5. Full custom-code functionality is desktop- or VPS-centric; browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring.
Does HF Markets offer copy trading?
Yes. Followers can select Strategy Providers, set capital allocation and risk parameters, and stop copying. Copy trading requires a dedicated account, with a $25 minimum deposit for followers.
What fees can apply if I leave my HFM account inactive?
An inactivity fee of $5 per month begins after more than six months without financial activity. It rises to $10 per month after one year, $20 per month after two years, and then increases by $10 per month each year after three years until the balance reaches zero.
How long do HF Markets withdrawals take?
Card withdrawals normally take about 2–10 business days, while crypto and e-wallet payouts are typically completed within 24 hours. Bank-transfer timing and method-specific fees can differ, and payment providers may add their own charges.
Which clients are eligible to open an HF Markets account?
HFM restricts clients from a number of countries, including the United States, Canada, Russia, Belarus, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates, among others. Eligibility and the applicable entity depend on the client’s location.