The Libertex Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | Traders can choose Libertex’s proprietary platform or MetaTrader 4 or 5, with access to CFD markets and a separate account for real shares and ETFs. |
| Main limitation | Trading costs depend on the account, instrument and platform; eligibility and protections also differ by region. |
| Most natural fit | Active CFD traders who prefer a proprietary interface but also want access to MetaTrader. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Libertex, MT4 Market and MT5 Market accounts; the proprietary platform is separate from the MetaTrader routes. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.14/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 8.5 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.0 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.0 |
| Tradable Instruments | 7.5 |
| Setup | 8.5 |
| Account Opening | 9.0 |
| Customer Support | 8.0 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.0 |
| Market Research and Education | 7.5 |
Platform choice is one consideration, but traders should compare costs and protections for their intended account and market rather than assume they are the same across Libertex routes.
Pros
-
Offers its proprietary platform alongside MT4 and MT5.
-
Allows copy trading, scalping and hedging.
-
Eligible retail clients under the CySEC entity are covered by the ICF up to EUR 20,000.
Cons
-
CFD commissions, spreads and overnight costs vary by account and instrument.
-
The proprietary Libertex platform does not support external API trading.
-
A €10 monthly inactivity fee may apply after 180 days under specified balance and account conditions.
Libertex by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EEA / Cyprus | Indication Investments Ltd | CySEC | 164/12 | Clients onboarded through this Cyprus entity receive the protections that apply to it. Eligible retail clients are covered by the ICF up to EUR 20,000. |
Protection by Entity
For clients of the Cyprus-regulated entity, client funds are segregated and negative balance protection applies. These protections may differ for clients onboarded through another entity. Libertex identifies Cyprus as its regulatory jurisdiction; onboarding determines the contracting entity based on the client’s location.
Libertex was founded in 1997 and is not publicly traded.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.3 pips | CFD commissions are typically a percentage of trade volume, with examples from 0.005% to 0.011% or more, depending on the asset. | Pricing depends on the account, instrument and platform; the average spread does not represent the full trading cost. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.3 pips | CFD commissions are typically a percentage of trade volume, with examples from 0.005% to 0.011% or more, depending on the asset. | Pricing depends on the account, instrument and platform; the average spread does not represent the full trading cost. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.22 points | CFD commission varies by asset and account. | The spread is quoted in points, so it is not directly comparable with forex spreads in pips. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.8 points | CFD commission varies by asset and account. | The spread is quoted in points, so it is not directly comparable with forex spreads in pips. |
| Cryptocurrency CFDs | Instrument-specific spread | Zero commission on most cryptocurrency CFD trades. | “Most” does not include every crypto CFD. Overnight costs depend on the instrument, and many crypto CFDs are designated swap-free. |
| Real stocks through Libertex Invest | Standard market spreads apply. | Commission-free investing in real stocks. | This is an investment route, separate from leveraged CFD pricing. |
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding leveraged positions overnight | Swap or rollover fee | Applies to leveraged positions held past the daily market close; treatment varies by asset. Many crypto CFDs are designated swap-free. |
| Leaving a standard CFD account inactive | €10 per month | Applies after 180 calendar days without trades, open positions, deposits or withdrawals when the balance is below €5,000. The stated equivalent thresholds are £4,500, CHF 5,300 or PLN 22,500. Libertex Portfolio accounts are exempt. |
| Withdrawing funds | Method-dependent fee | Fees range from free for PayPal to 1% for Skrill or Neteller. SEPA and wire transfers cost 0.5%, with a €2 minimum and €10 maximum; Visa and Mastercard cost €1 per transaction. |
| Trading or moving funds across currencies | Currency conversion fee of up to 0.3% | May apply when the account currency differs from the asset’s quoted currency or the currency of a deposit or withdrawal. |
| Depositing funds | Provider or bank charges may apply | Libertex charges no deposit fee, though third-party provider fees may apply. |
The quoted spread is only part of the cost. CFD commissions, overnight holding, inactivity and withdrawal methods can add separate charges. The real-share route has a different commission structure from leveraged CFDs.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Platform choice, but different pricing models
Libertex offers its proprietary web and mobile platform alongside MT4 and MT5 accounts. The account and platform route can affect commissions and spreads, so active traders should compare costs for the specific market and account they plan to use.
High headline leverage versus regional retail limits
Advertised maximum leverage across Libertex offerings can reach 1:999, but this is not a universal retail limit. Under the EU retail offering, leverage is capped at 1:30 for major forex pairs and is lower for other asset classes. Exposure should be assessed against the limits that apply to the relevant entity and product, not an offshore maximum.
Proprietary platform access versus specialist automation
The proprietary Libertex platform does not support external API trading. MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors and custom scripts, but full automation workflows are centred on desktop and VPS environments. Libertex does not provide its own VPS, so traders using coded strategies need a MetaTrader route and their own hosting arrangement.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Libertex | Libertex proprietary web and mobile platform | Instrument-specific commission and spread model | No general user-coded algorithm engine; no external API trading on the proprietary platform. | Pricing differs from MetaTrader accounts; minimum deposit is not separately published for this account type. | Manual trading through Libertex’s own interface. |
| MT4 Market | MetaTrader 4, including desktop, web and mobile versions | Instrument-specific; account-specific pricing details vary. | Expert Advisors and custom scripts on the desktop/VPS environment. | Minimum deposit is not separately published for this account type; full EA functionality is desktop/VPS-centric. | MetaTrader users who want an MT4 environment and desktop automation. |
| MT5 Market | MetaTrader 5, including desktop, web and mobile versions | Instrument-specific; account-specific pricing details vary. | Expert Advisors, custom code and Strategy Tester on the desktop/VPS environment. | Minimum deposit is not separately published for this account type; full automation and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. | MetaTrader users who want MT5 tools and desktop automation. |
Platform-Specific Differences
The Libertex platform provides the broker’s proprietary trading interface on web and mobile. MT4 and MT5 add desktop terminals and support automated strategies through their respective Expert Advisor systems. MetaTrader’s browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring, rather than full desktop automation.
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use either the proprietary platform or MetaTrader. Coded strategies require MT4 or MT5 and a desktop or VPS environment; Libertex does not provide an in-house VPS. Copy trading is available through the Libertex Social Copy Trading app and an integrated platform tool. Real-share and ETF investing is offered through the separate Libertex Invest account.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
The minimum investment for an individual instrument is $10, and the minimum lot size is 0.01. In fast-moving markets, execution may occur at a price above or below the requested level. Libertex does not provide execution statistics or a specific execution venue in these specifications.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:30 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 1:20 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 1:20 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1:5 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; access varies by account and region, and the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Bonds | 1:5 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:2 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; the maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Other | 1:5 | N/A | EU / CySEC retail offering; includes ETFs, futures, options and other markets. The maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
For the EU and UK retail offering, major forex pairs are capped at 1:30. Higher limits described for other jurisdictions or eligible clients do not override the product- and entity-specific limits shown in the table.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
The stated margin call level is 100%, and the stop-out margin level is 50%. These thresholds indicate when margin intervention can occur as available equity falls relative to required margin.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | Scalping is permitted; the proprietary platform’s multiplier and commission structure can affect short-term trade costs. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Opposing positions can offset exposure; MetaTrader supports simultaneous opposing positions. |
| News trading | Allowed | Economic news, sentiment gauges and risk-management tools are available; fast-moving markets can produce slippage. |
| Expert Advisors and custom scripts | Supported on MT4 and MT5 | Automation is available through MetaTrader desktop environments; full functionality is desktop/VPS-centric. |
| External API trading | Not available on the proprietary platform | MetaTrader supports automation through Expert Advisors and scripts, which is separate from external API access. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 46 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 20 | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 22 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1,130 | Equity trading access varies by account and region | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Bonds | 3 | Bond/rates derivatives rather than cash bonds | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 110 | Spot, custody or derivatives depending on region | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Other | 24 | ETFs, futures, options and other markets | Maximum may be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
Most listed leveraged markets are derivatives, including index, commodity and bond/rates exposure. Libertex also offers real shares and ETFs through its Invest account, though equity access varies by account and region.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
Libertex requires identity verification for real-money accounts. Clients typically need a government-issued photo ID and proof of address, such as a recent bank statement or utility bill. Verification is required before they can fully fund an account, trade or withdraw.
The typical first deposit for a new live account is €100, though the minimum may vary by region and payment method. The minimum investment per instrument is $10, so depositing only the account minimum may limit the ability to maintain multiple positions. Base account currencies are EUR, GBP, CHF and PLN.
Libertex restricts access in numerous jurisdictions, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Cyprus, Japan, Russia, Brazil and the European Union. Eligibility depends on location and the applicable entity.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Giropay | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | Giropay has been discontinued and is no longer available for new payments. Use another method if it still appears in a legacy listing. |
| Mastercard | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| PayPal | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | An eligible PayPal account in a supported country is required. Currency, account status and payment-feature availability may vary. |
| SEPA | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | 2–5 business days | Available for EUR transfers through participating SEPA institutions. Use the correct IBAN and payment reference. |
| Skrill | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Sofort | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | SOFORT is no longer available as a standalone method and has been consolidated into Klarna. Use Klarna or another available option. |
| Visa | $10 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | Instant | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $0 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | 2–5 business days | Use the beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mastercard | €10 | €1 | Up to 7 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | €10 | 1% | Usually instant once approved | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| PayPal | €10 | Free | Usually instant once approved | An eligible PayPal account is required; country, verification, currency and account limits apply. |
| SEPA | €0 | 0.5% (min €2, max €10) | 2–5 business days | EUR transfers to eligible SEPA accounts only; use the correct IBAN and recipient details. |
| Skrill | €10 | 1% | Usually instant once approved | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Visa | €10 | €1 | Up to 7 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | €0 | 0.5% (min €2, max €10) | 2–5 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details accurately; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Card and e-wallet deposits may arrive instantly; bank transfers typically take 2–5 business days. Once approved, e-wallet withdrawals are usually instant. Card payouts can take up to 7 business days, while SEPA and international wire transfers generally take 2–5 business days. Currency conversion may add a fee of up to 0.3% when the account currency differs from the relevant transaction or asset currency.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| [email protected] | Messages accepted 24/7; response hours not listed | Human / agent-assisted | Regional multilingual support; coverage varies by country. Contact is asynchronous, and verification may be required. | |
| Phone | +357 22 025 100 | Response hours not listed | Human / agent-assisted | Regional multilingual support; availability varies by region. |
| Help Center | Self-service | 24/7 | Automated / self-service | Localized content and language coverage vary by region. |
Customer feedback is generally positive about routine assistance, but recurring complaints involve complex withdrawals and deposit or funding support. Payment-related cases appear more prone to service difficulties than straightforward enquiries.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Track scheduled economic releases | Economic Calendar | Libertex calendar; underlying data vendor not identified | Full-access or login requirements are not specified and may vary by entity or platform. | Includes scheduled macro events with actual, forecast and previous data; it cannot capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event. |
| Review market commentary | Market Analysis | Libertex | Public versus login access is not specified universally; availability may vary by entity and platform. | Qualitative or technical commentary; coverage and publishing frequency vary by market and region. |
| Build trading knowledge | Blogs, webinars, tutorials and guides | Libertex | Access requirements are not specified. | Learning content is available, but no consistent depth or publishing schedule is specified. |
Who Libertex Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Active CFD traders who prefer a proprietary interface | Libertex offers its own web and mobile platform alongside MT4 and MT5, and permits scalping and hedging. | Commissions, spreads and overnight costs depend on the instrument and account; fast-moving markets can produce slippage. |
| MetaTrader users who automate strategies | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors and custom scripts in desktop environments. | Libertex does not provide an in-house VPS, and full automation is desktop/VPS-centric. |
| Investors seeking real shares or ETFs | The Libertex Invest account provides access to real shares and ETFs, with commission-free investing in real stocks. | Equity access varies by account and region; CFD pricing and overnight costs are separate considerations. |
| Copy traders | Copy trading is available through a dedicated social app and an integrated platform tool. | Copy trading does not remove the market and account risks of the underlying positions. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Entity and country eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Libertex restricts access in numerous jurisdictions, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Cyprus, Japan, Russia, Brazil and the European Union. Confirm whether your location is eligible and which entity will onboard you.
Account and trade minimums Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
The typical first live-account deposit is €100, while the minimum investment for an individual instrument is $10. The deposit minimum may vary by region and payment method.
Trading costs by route Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Compare commissions, spreads and overnight charges for the instrument and account platform you plan to use. The proprietary and MetaTrader routes do not share one pricing model.
Withdrawal charges and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Fees and processing times vary by payment method, from free PayPal withdrawals to percentage-based e-wallet and bank-transfer charges. Choose a supported route that suits your account and location.
FxFind's Assessment on Libertex
Libertex combines a proprietary trading interface with MT4 and MT5, offers a range of CFD markets and provides a separate route to real shares and ETFs. Traders can choose between different platform environments, though the features and costs are not uniform across them.
The main trade-offs are variable costs across instruments and account routes, possible overnight charges on leveraged positions, and protections and leverage that depend on the client’s entity and classification. The setup is most relevant to active CFD traders who value platform choice and are prepared to compare costs for their intended account. Traders needing external API access on the proprietary platform, an in-house VPS or a single cost model may find the structure less suitable.
Review method:See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About Libertex
Which regulator oversees Libertex?
Indication Investments Ltd is regulated by CySEC under licence 164/12 for clients onboarded through the Cyprus entity. Eligible retail clients under that entity are covered by the ICF up to EUR 20,000.
What is Libertex’s minimum deposit?
The typical first deposit for a new live account is €100, although the minimum may vary by region and payment method. Payment-method transaction minimums are separate from the account-opening minimum.
Does Libertex offer MT4 and MT5?
Yes. Libertex offers MT4 Market and MT5 Market accounts alongside its proprietary platform. Expert Advisors and custom scripts are supported in MetaTrader desktop environments; full automation is desktop/VPS-centric.
Does Libertex allow API trading?
External API trading is not available on the proprietary Libertex platform. MT4 and MT5 support automated trading through Expert Advisors and custom scripts, separately from external API access.
What withdrawal fees does Libertex charge?
Fees depend on the method: PayPal withdrawals are free, Skrill and Neteller withdrawals cost 1%, SEPA and wire transfers cost 0.5% with a €2 minimum and €10 maximum, and Visa or Mastercard withdrawals cost €1. Processing times also vary by method.
Does Libertex charge an inactivity fee?
A €10 monthly fee may apply to standard CFD accounts after 180 calendar days without trades, open positions, deposits or withdrawals, if the balance is below €5,000. The stated balance thresholds are £4,500, CHF 5,300 or PLN 22,500 for accounts in those currencies; Libertex Portfolio accounts are exempt.
Can I trade real shares through Libertex?
Libertex offers real-share and ETF investing through the Libertex Invest account. Equity access varies by account and region, and this route has different costs from leveraged stock CFDs.