The Markets.com Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | Markets.com WebTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView, with access to forex and several CFD asset classes. |
| Main limitation | Leverage, protections and product terms depend on the serving entity. The 1:500 headline does not apply to CySEC retail clients. |
| Most natural fit | Beginner and intermediate traders seeking several platforms, a demo account, or copy and social trading, subject to entity-specific terms. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Classic, Standard, Micro and Raw accounts. Classic, Standard and Micro have no commission; Raw accounts carry a per-lot commission. MT4, MT5 and Markets.com platforms are supported, as is TradingView. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.35/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 8.8/10 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.0/10 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.0/10 |
| Tradable Instruments | 8.5/10 |
| Setup | 8.5/10 |
| Account Opening | 8.5/10 |
| Customer Support | 8.0/10 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.0/10 |
| Market Research and Education | 8.0/10 |
Platform choice is a notable feature, but the account’s legal entity and pricing route are more relevant than broker-wide headline figures.
Pros
-
Supports Markets.com WebTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView.
-
Offers Classic, Standard, Micro and Raw accounts, as well as demo and Islamic accounts.
-
Provides access to forex, stocks, commodities, indices, cryptocurrencies, ETFs and bonds.
Cons
-
The 1:500 maximum leverage is limited to offshore entities; CySEC retail clients are capped at 1:30.
-
Raw accounts carry a per-lot commission, and inactivity and currency-conversion charges can add to costs.
-
Customer-service reliability is less consistent for some withdrawal and funding problems than for routine enquiries.
Markets.com by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EEA / Cyprus | Safecap Investments Ltd | CySEC | 092/08 | The Cyprus/EEA MiFID framework applies. Retail leverage, product rules and complaint arrangements differ from those of offshore entities; compensation eligibility depends on the client and entity. |
| South Africa, or clients routed to the South African entity | Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd / Markets.com South Africa entity | FSCA | 46860 | The South African FSCA framework applies. Protections and product terms can differ materially from those of other entities. |
Protection by Entity
Eligible clients of the Cyprus entity may be covered by the Investor Compensation Fund (ICF) up to €20,000. Other entities do not offer the same scheme, so protection is not uniform across markets.com.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.7 pips | $0 on Classic, Standard and Micro; per-lot commission on Raw | The stated average spread is not assigned to a specific account type. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 1.2 pips | $0 on Classic, Standard and Micro; per-lot commission on Raw | The stated average spread is not assigned to a specific account type. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.4 points | $0 on Classic, Standard and Micro; per-lot commission on Raw | The stated average spread is not assigned to a specific account type. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.5 points | $0 on Classic, Standard and Micro; per-lot commission on Raw | The stated average spread is not assigned to a specific account type. |
Raw accounts offer spreads from about 0.1 pip plus a per-lot commission. The commission amount is not specified here, so the all-in cost cannot be compared directly with no-commission accounts. Standard and Micro account conditions list spreads from about 0.7 pips; a current standalone Classic spread is not specified.
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Overnight swap fees | Swap fees apply. |
| Leaving an account inactive | $10 per month | Assessed after 90 consecutive days (3 months) with no trading activity. |
| Trading in a currency other than the account’s base currency | Currency conversion charge | Up to 0.6%–0.7% on net realized P/L for trades denominated outside the base account currency. |
| Depositing or withdrawing | Provider, bank or currency-conversion charges may apply | markets.com charges no deposit or withdrawal fee; payment providers or banks may charge separately. |
Trading frequency, base currency and holding periods can all affect costs beyond the displayed spread.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Offshore leverage versus regional retail limits
The broker advertises maximum leverage up to 1:500 under its offshore FSA Seychelles and BVI FSC entities, compared with a 1:30 cap for CySEC retail clients. Higher leverage can increase exposure relative to account equity, but the 1:500 ceiling is not available to all clients. Check the serving entity and client classification rather than treating it as a broker-wide term.
Raw pricing versus commission-free accounts
Raw accounts offer spreads from about 0.1 pip and charge a separate per-lot commission. Classic, Standard and Micro accounts have no commission, with Standard and Micro spreads from about 0.7 pips. Since the Raw commission amount is not specified, its lower starting spread alone does not show which account costs less. Comparing the pricing routes requires both the spread and commission schedule.
Platform choice versus automation limits
Markets.com supports MT4 and MT5, whose desktop terminals support Expert Advisors, as well as TradingView and its browser-based WebTrader. WebTrader is not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine, and TradingView strategies do not by themselves ensure unattended live execution. Traders seeking custom automated execution should distinguish desktop MetaTrader automation from browser- or chart-based workflows.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic | MT4, MT5, Markets.com | Commission-free; current standalone spread tier not specified | MT4/MT5 desktop support Expert Advisors | Classic appears as a family or legacy label; the current account table emphasizes Standard, Raw and Micro. | Traders using a no-commission account route, subject to the applicable account terms. |
| Standard | MT4, MT5, Markets.com | No commission; spreads from about 0.7 pips | MT4/MT5 desktop support Expert Advisors | Minimum deposit and precise spreads can depend on entity and account terms. | Manual traders who prefer a no-commission structure. |
| Micro | MT4, MT5, Markets.com | No commission; spreads from about 0.7 pips | MT4/MT5 desktop support Expert Advisors | Smaller sizing; minimum deposit can depend on entity. | Traders seeking smaller trade sizing. |
| Raw | MT4, MT5, Markets.com | Spreads from about 0.1 pip plus a per-lot commission | MT4/MT5 desktop support Expert Advisors | The per-lot commission amount is not specified here. | Traders comparing a narrower starting spread with a commission-based charge. |
Platform-Specific Differences
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Markets.com WebTrader | Yes, browser | No native installation; browser-based | Mobile browser where responsive | Not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine | Browser-focused; do not assume programmable automation. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Yes, MT4 WebTrader | Yes | Yes, iOS and Android | Expert Advisors (MQL4) on desktop/VPS environments | Full EA and custom-script functionality is desktop/VPS-centric. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Yes, MT5 WebTerminal | Yes | Yes, iOS and Android | Expert Advisors (MQL5), Strategy Tester and MQL5 automation on desktop/VPS | Full EA development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. |
| TradingView | Yes | Yes, desktop app | Yes, iOS and Android | Pine strategies, server-side alerts and webhooks; unattended live execution requires a compatible broker/API/bridge | A Pine strategy alone does not provide universal live broker auto-execution. |
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use WebTrader, MetaTrader or TradingView, while MT4 and MT5 desktop users can run platform-based Expert Advisors. markets.com also supports API trading, copy trading and social trading, although specific API capabilities and account conditions are not detailed here. The broker does not offer VPS hosting.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
markets.com operates as a market maker. Slippage is a normal occurrence, so execution prices can differ from requested prices. Scalping, hedging and news trading are allowed.
Leverage
Unless otherwise qualified, the asset-level leverage below is for CySEC/EU retail clients. Forex professional leverage varies by instrument; the listed 1:294 figure is not a general retail limit. The stated 1:500 maximum applies under offshore FSA Seychelles and BVI FSC entities, while FCA and CySEC retail clients are capped at 1:30.
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:30 | 1:294 | CySEC/EU retail terms; professional leverage varies by instrument. The maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 1:20 | N/A | CySEC/EU retail terms; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 1:20 | N/A | CySEC/EU retail terms; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1:5 | N/A | Share CFDs under CySEC/EU retail terms; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Bonds | N/A | N/A | Leverage depends on the client’s regulated entity and the exact CFD; group maximums are 1:30 for Cyprus/UK/Australia and 1:300 for BVI/South Africa, with product-level limits potentially lower. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:2 | 1:5 | CySEC/EU retail terms; the maximum can fall with larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Other | N/A | N/A | Leverage and eligibility depend on the product and contracting entity; group CFD maximums range from 1:30 to 1:300 by entity. |
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
A margin call warning is triggered when equity falls to 100% of required margin. Automatic position liquidation occurs at a 50% margin level across all entities, making available equity and position sizing central to risk management.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| News trading | Allowed | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| API trading | Available | Specific API capabilities and account conditions are not specified here. |
| Copy trading | Available | Specific account conditions are not specified here. |
| Social trading | Available | Specific account conditions are not specified here. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 54 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 25 | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 19 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 257 | Share CFDs; no ownership or voting rights | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Bonds | 4 | Fixed-income access varies by account | Fixed-income CFD availability and leverage depend on account/entity and the exact instrument; use current platform specifications. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 75 | Crypto CFDs; no underlying coin ownership | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Other | 67 | ETF CFDs and additional leveraged markets | ETF and other leveraged-market conditions vary by product and contracting entity; the group-wide CFD leverage ceiling differs by jurisdiction. |
Shares and cryptocurrencies are available through CFDs, not ownership of the underlying assets. Instrument counts indicate range, not the depth or suitability of coverage for a particular strategy.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
markets.com requires identity verification (KYC) and offers demo and Islamic accounts. The stated minimum deposit is $100. The broker does not accept clients from Afghanistan, Australia, Belarus, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, North Korea, Russia, Singapore, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine or the United States.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mastercard | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | about 24 h | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | up to 24 h | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| PayPal | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | up to 24 h | An eligible PayPal account in a supported country is required. Currency, account status and payment-feature availability may vary. |
| Skrill | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | up to 24 h | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Sofort | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | up to 24 h | SOFORT is no longer available as a standalone payment method and has been consolidated into Klarna. Use Klarna or another available option. |
| Visa | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | about 24 h | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $100 | No broker deposit fee, provider fees may apply | 1–2 business days after receipt | Use the beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mastercard | 10 USD/EUR/GBP | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | 2–7 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | 5 USD/EUR/GBP | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | up to 24 hours | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| PayPal | 5 USD/EUR/GBP where available | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | up to 24 hours | An eligible PayPal account is required; country, verification, currency and account limits apply. |
| Skrill | 5 USD/EUR/GBP | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | up to 24 hours | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Sofort | 5 USD/EUR/GBP where available | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | up to 24 hours | Discontinued as a standalone method since March 2025; not a current withdrawal option. |
| Visa | 10 USD/EUR/GBP | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | 2–7 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | 100 USD/EUR/GBP | No broker fee, bank/provider and FX-conversion charges may apply | 2–5 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
markets.com charges no broker deposit or withdrawal fee, though banks, payment providers and currency conversion can add charges. Sofort is no longer a standalone payment option: the deposit entry refers to its consolidation into Klarna, while the withdrawal method has been discontinued as of March 2025.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Live chat | 24/5, Monday–Friday | Human / agent-assisted | Global English 24/5; language schedules for Arabic, French, Italian and Spanish. |
| Messages accepted 24/7; staffed support follows support schedule | Human / agent-assisted | Language availability follows regional support coverage; asynchronous. | ||
| Phone | +12845680155 | 24/5 overall; language schedules vary | Human / agent-assisted | Global English 24/5; Arabic 08:00–01:00 Cyprus time, French 10:00–19:00, Italian 10:00–19:00 and Spanish 09:00–03:00. |
| Online query form | Online form | Submissions accepted 24/7; human follow-up during support coverage | Human follow-up / asynchronous | Response language and coverage depend on the support team. |
Routine enquiries generally receive practical guidance and prompt responses. Reports are less consistent for withdrawal problems and deposit or funding support, where complex cases can be harder to resolve.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Follow scheduled and breaking market developments | Economic Calendar; Market News | markets.com economic calendar; underlying calendar data vendor not identified. markets.com news feed; external news vendor not identified. | Resources are confirmed; universal public-versus-login access rules are not specified and can vary by entity and platform. | The calendar covers scheduled macro events, not unscheduled news or every market-moving event. News coverage, latency and provider mix vary. |
| Review market commentary and technical views | Market Analysis; Technical Analysis | Market Analysis is first-party markets.com content. Technical analysis is available through supported trading platforms, including MetaTrader where offered; exact chart and data vendor not identified. | Market Analysis access can vary by entity and platform. Technical-analysis access and demo/live eligibility depend on platform and entity. | Commentary coverage and publishing frequency vary. Technical analysis uses price and indicator inputs and can produce false signals. |
| Gauge positioning or sentiment | Market Sentiment | markets.com sentiment/positioning tool; methodology and provider not identified. | Broker or platform access may be required; account and platform conditions vary. | Sample size, source coverage and update cadence can limit how representative the measure is. |
| Build foundational trading knowledge | Education Centre, Webinars, Traders' Clinic, Trading Basics, Glossary, Video library | markets.com | Public Education Centre and learning pages are available on markets.com; live-event access may require registration. | Educational material spans trading basics, product guides, glossary/video content and market education; individual resources vary in depth and format. |
Markets.com combines commentary and monitoring tools with educational material. Access and depth vary across resources, so educational content should be distinguished from timely market data and platform-based analysis.
Who Markets.com Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Newer traders learning through a demo account | markets.com offers demo access, an Education Centre, webinars, Trading Basics, a glossary and video library. | Real-account leverage and protection depend on the serving entity; CFDs do not confer ownership of the underlying shares or cryptocurrencies. |
| Manual traders who value platform choice | WebTrader, MT4, MT5 and TradingView offer browser, desktop and chart-led options. | WebTrader is not documented as a programmable algorithmic engine, while TradingView strategies alone do not ensure unattended live execution. |
| Active traders comparing spread and commission structures | Raw accounts offer spreads from about 0.1 pip, while Classic, Standard and Micro accounts have no commission. | The Raw per-lot commission amount is unspecified, and average spread figures are not assigned to a particular account. |
| Traders seeking high leverage or a particular compensation scheme | Offshore entities have a stated maximum of 1:500, and eligible Cyprus clients may qualify for ICF coverage up to €20,000. | The 1:500 maximum is not available to CySEC retail clients, and the ICF scheme does not apply in the same way to other entities. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Serving legal entity Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Before funding, identify the contracting entity: it determines the applicable leverage limits, protections and product terms.
Raw account commission Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Obtain the Raw account’s per-lot commission and compare it with spreads on the no-commission account route.
Inactivity and conversion charges Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Allow for the $10 monthly inactivity fee after 90 days without trading and the 0.6%–0.7% currency-conversion charge on qualifying net realized P/L.
Payment availability and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Confirm that your chosen method is available in your country and account. Sofort is not a current standalone option, and provider or bank processing times can differ.
FxFind's Assessment on Markets.com
markets.com combines several platform options with access to multiple CFD markets and a choice between commission-free and Raw pricing. The terms are not uniform: the client’s legal entity affects leverage limits and protections, while the Raw commission and account-specific spread conditions need to be considered when comparing total costs. The available features are relevant to beginner and intermediate traders looking for a demo account, educational resources and platform choice, provided they are comfortable with the terms of the entity serving their account. Traders seeking a uniform high-leverage ceiling, consistent compensation protection across regions or a fully specified all-in Raw cost may prefer a structure with more consistent terms. The 8.35/10 FxFind rating reflects the range of features alongside these entity and pricing distinctions.
Review method: FxFind’s assessment uses broker product and pricing information, entity and regulator details, asset and platform specifications, and FxFind category scores. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About Markets.com
Which legal entity serves markets.com clients?
EEA/Cyprus clients contract with Safecap Investments Ltd, regulated by CySEC under licence 092/08. South African clients, or clients routed to the South African entity, may contract with Finalto (South Africa) Pty Ltd / Markets.com South Africa entity, regulated by the FSCA under licence 46860. The entity affects applicable terms and protections.
Does markets.com offer 1:500 leverage to retail clients?
Not across all entities. The stated maximum of 1:500 applies under the offshore FSA Seychelles and BVI FSC entities, while FCA and CySEC retail clients are capped at 1:30. Asset-level limits can be lower.
What is the minimum deposit at markets.com?
The stated minimum deposit is $100, and each deposit method in the payment schedule also has a $100 minimum. Account and payment availability can depend on the entity and country.
How do markets.com account pricing options differ?
Classic, Standard and Micro accounts have no commission; Standard and Micro spreads are quoted from about 0.7 pips. Raw spreads start from about 0.1 pip and carry a per-lot commission, whose amount is not specified here.
Can I use Expert Advisors or automated trading with markets.com?
MT4 desktop supports Expert Advisors using MQL4, while MT5 desktop supports Expert Advisors and MQL5 automation. Markets.com WebTrader is not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine, and TradingView strategies alone do not provide universal unattended live execution.
Does markets.com charge inactivity or currency-conversion fees?
Yes. An inactivity fee of $10 per month applies after 90 consecutive days without trading, and a currency-conversion charge of up to 0.6%–0.7% applies to net realized P/L on trades denominated outside the account’s base currency.
Is Sofort available for deposits or withdrawals?
Sofort is no longer available as a standalone deposit method and has been consolidated into Klarna. It is discontinued as a standalone withdrawal method and is not a current withdrawal option.