The moomoo Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | Stocks and options access alongside detailed market data and mobile and desktop platforms. |
| Main limitation | The offering is securities-focused; forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered, and terms differ by region and entity. |
| Most natural fit | Active stock and options traders who value market data, charting and a mobile-first experience. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Cash and margin accounts on moomoo’s app and desktop platform; TradingView is also supported, with platform and API permissions varying by market and account. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.96/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 9.0 |
| Fees and Commissions | 9.5 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.5 |
| Tradable Instruments | 9.0 |
| Setup | 9.5 |
| Account Opening | 9.0 |
| Customer Support | 8.0 |
| Trading Conditions | 9.0 |
| Market Research and Education | 8.5 |
The tools are most relevant to stock and options users. Eligibility, margin rules and investor protections depend on the regional entity, not on a single global account structure.
Pros
-
Cash and margin accounts are available, with no minimum deposit specified for opening an account.
-
The proprietary platform is available on mobile and desktop; moomoo also supports TradingView and OpenAPI trading.
-
U.S. brokerage accounts may receive SIPC protection for eligible securities and cash, subject to SIPC limits.
Cons
-
Forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered in the instrument reference.
-
Currency conversion fees are applied through an exchange-rate markup, frequently around 0.4%–0.5%.
-
Margin trading requires approval, and the stated margin minimum and buying-power conditions are not uniform.
moomoo by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australia | Moomoo Securities Australia Ltd | ASIC | 224663 | Australian retail CFD rules apply to retail clients, including leverage limits, margin close-out and negative-balance protections; treatment differs for professional clients. |
| Canada | Moomoo Financial Canada Inc. | CIRO | CIRO Investment Dealer | Canadian investment-dealer rules apply. Product availability, margin and investor-protection arrangements follow Canadian requirements and differ from those of offshore CFD entities. |
| United States | Moomoo Financial Inc. | FINRA | CRD 283078 | U.S. broker-dealer and securities rules apply. SIPC protection may cover eligible securities accounts; it does not protect against market losses. |
| Japan | Moomoo Securities Japan Co., Ltd. | JFSA | Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Kinsho) No.3335 | Japan-specific rules apply, including local product and leverage requirements. The Japanese entity’s terms govern. |
| Singapore | Moomoo Financial Singapore Pte. Ltd. | MAS | MAS Capital Markets Services licence | Singapore rules govern available products, eligibility, client money and custody, which can differ from those of other group entities. |
| United States | Moomoo Financial Inc. | SEC | SEC-registered broker-dealer | U.S. broker-dealer and securities rules apply. SIPC protection may cover eligible securities accounts; it does not protect against market losses. |
| Hong Kong | Futu Securities International (Hong Kong) Limited | SFC | SFC CE AZT137 | Hong Kong SFC rules apply. Product scope and investor-compensation eligibility depend on licensed activities and the products traded. |
Protection by Entity
U.S. brokerage accounts are protected by SIPC up to $500,000, including up to $250,000 for cash. This protection applies to eligible securities accounts, not market losses; crypto accounts are not SIPC-protected. Client funds are segregated from company operating capital. moomoo does not offer negative-balance protection as a general account feature, although Australian retail CFD protections differ under the applicable rules.
Corporate Transparency and Ownership
Founded in 2018, moomoo is a subsidiary of Futu Holdings Ltd, listed on Nasdaq under the ticker FUTU.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stocks, ETFs and options | Not publicly specified as a fixed figure; check the broker’s current live spread or contract specification. | No | Market bid/ask applies. Margin accounts may incur margin interest; options access and strategies require approval. |
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Converting currencies or trading assets in a currency different from the account’s base currency | Exchange-rate markup, frequently around 0.4%–0.5% | The conversion charge is built into the exchange rate; repeated conversions can incur the cost more than once. |
| Depositing funds | No broker deposit fee stated | Bank or intermediary charges may apply to a wire transfer. |
| Withdrawing funds | No broker withdrawal fee stated | Region-specific bank or remittance charges may apply. |
| Leaving an account inactive | No inactivity fee | No inactivity fee is stated. |
| Holding a position overnight | No overnight swap fees stated | Margin interest may still apply to margin borrowing. |
For cash investors, the main stated non-trading cost is currency conversion when dealing across currencies. Margin users also need to account for interest on borrowed funds, and bank charges can affect wire payments.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Market Data and Platform Tools Versus a Securities-Focused Range
moomoo combines stocks, options and ETFs with market data, charting and community features on its mobile and desktop platforms. The offering is geared towards securities rather than broad multi-asset coverage: forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered in the instrument reference. Traders seeking those markets will need another product range.
No Stated Commission Versus Currency-Conversion Markups
The commission field says “No,” but currency conversion carries an exchange-rate markup, frequently around 0.4%–0.5%. Costs therefore depend not only on trade commissions but also on the currencies of the asset and account. Investors trading across currencies can incur conversion costs even when no broker commission is stated.
Margin Buying Power Versus Approval and Eligibility Conditions
Margin accounts support borrowing and short selling, but access requires approval and the stated minimum for margin trading is $2,500. The account conditions also note that assets below $2,000 may be restricted to cash trading, while buying power depends on the security and account rules. This structure is more relevant to active traders able to meet margin requirements than to investors seeking unrestricted leverage.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash | moomoo app and desktop | 1:1; market bid/ask applies | No separate user-programmable automation capability was verified in current public documentation. | No margin or short selling; options strategies are limited to lower approval levels. | Cash-only investing and trading. |
| Margin | moomoo app and desktop | Market bid/ask plus margin interest | No separate user-programmable automation capability was verified in current public documentation. | Approval is required; assets below $2,000 may be restricted to cash trading. Margin trading has a stated minimum of $2,500. | Eligible users seeking margin trading or short selling. |
Platform-Specific Differences
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TradingView | Yes | Yes — desktop app | Yes — iOS/Android | Partial — Pine strategies, server-side alerts and webhooks; unattended live execution requires a compatible broker, API or bridge. | TradingView strategy orders use its broker emulator; a Pine strategy alone does not enable universal live broker execution. |
| Proprietary | Browser services exist; live-trading availability varies by market | Yes — moomoo Desktop | Yes — mobile app | Yes — official OpenAPI supports program trading through languages including Python, Java, C#, C++ and JavaScript. | Market, product and API permissions vary by region and account. |
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use the moomoo app or desktop platform. Users building automated strategies can access OpenAPI, subject to regional and account permissions. The “Pick Up” feature lets users replicate professional, institutional or strategy portfolios, but copies portfolio allocations rather than mirroring another user’s trades in real time. Separately, the “Moo” community supports idea-sharing and stock-specific discussion.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
In rapidly moving markets, market orders can execute above or below the requested level. No execution statistics or venue details are stated here, so a requested price should not be treated as a guaranteed execution price.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stocks | 1:2 | - | Standard initial-margin reference for eligible U.S. securities; security and account eligibility affect actual buying power. The account conditions also describe an intraday buying-power framework of up to 4x in cited U.S. help. |
| Cryptocurrencies | N/A | - | Spot crypto is offered through a separate service; the exact symbol and entity determine applicable contract terms. |
| Other | - | - | ETFs and options are available alongside stock investing; margin depends on the security, contract, account and jurisdiction. |
These leverage figures describe different contexts, not a single account-wide limit. Margin access requires approval, and borrowed funds can magnify losses.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
| Broker Threshold | Level |
|---|---|
| Margin call level | 25 |
| Stop-out margin level | 0 |
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | U.S. margin-account users must follow the Pattern Day Trader rule; the stated threshold is $25,000 for four or more day trades in five business days. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Options, short selling and margin strategies are subject to account approval and instrument availability. |
| News trading | Allowed | The platform provides news and market-data tools; market orders can execute above or below the requested price in fast markets. |
| API trading | Available | OpenAPI supports automated trading, subject to regional and account permissions. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | Not Offered | - | - |
| Indices | Not Offered | - | - |
| Commodities | Not Offered | - | - |
| Stocks | 10,000+ | Direct stocks and ETFs with options access. | Margin eligibility varies by security and account; 1:2 is a standard initial-margin reference, not a universal security-level cap. No separate professional or eligible-client leverage tier is stated for this offering. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | 50+ | Spot crypto through a separate service. | Instrument availability, leverage and contract terms can vary by account, legal entity and jurisdiction; check the current product specification. |
| Other | 3030 | ETFs and options alongside stock investing. | A single fixed asset-class leverage ratio does not apply; margin depends on the specific security or contract, account and jurisdiction. No separate professional or eligible-client leverage tier is stated for this offering. |
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
moomoo requires KYC verification before trading. Applicants provide personal details and identification, such as a passport or ID card; proof of address may also be requested. Approval is often fast but can take up to three business days.
Cash and margin accounts are available, with no minimum deposit stated for opening an account. Margin trading requires approval and has a stated minimum of $2,500; under the account conditions, assets below $2,000 may be restricted to cash trading. Availability is restricted in Saint Kitts and Nevis, Azerbaijan, Tonga, Guam, Guatemala, South Sudan, the United States, Italy, Ivory Coast, Sint Maarten, Sudan, Slovakia, the Cook Islands, Lebanon, Unknown, the Cocos Islands, Tristan Da Cunha, Namibia, the Netherlands, Mayotte and Afghanistan.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACH Transfer | $0 | No broker deposit fee stated | 3–5 business days | Available only for eligible U.S. bank accounts. Bank verification, returns and holding periods may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $0 | No broker fee stated; bank or intermediary fees may apply | 1–2 business days | Use the beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACH Transfer | No broker minimum ($0) for cash withdrawals | Region- and method-specific; bank or remittance charges may apply | U.S.: normally 1–3 business days (maximum about 4 business days) | U.S. bank accounts only; routing, account ownership and bank verification requirements apply. |
| Wire Transfer | No broker minimum ($0) for cash withdrawals | Region- and method-specific; bank or remittance charges may apply | U.S.: normally 1–3 business days, depending on beneficiary bank | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
ACH is limited to eligible U.S. bank accounts. Wire transfers can involve intermediary-bank charges, and conversion costs may apply when currencies differ.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Online inquiry; users can request a live agent | 24/7 online inquiry | Hybrid: bot with human-agent escalation | Languages not listed. |
| Email support | Not listed | Human / agent-assisted | U.S. support contact; asynchronous. | |
| Phone | 1 888 721 0610 | Monday–Friday, 08:30–16:30 ET | Human / agent-assisted | U.S. schedule; other regions have different numbers and hours. |
Customer feedback is mixed. Some users describe helpful technical assistance and clear explanations, while others report slow resolution of technical issues and unclear communication during escalation.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market analysis | Market research | moomoo | Public-versus-login access is not specified universally; availability can vary by entity and platform. | Analyst and fundamental research; breadth, update frequency and instrument coverage vary. Informational, not personalized advice. |
| Track scheduled events | Economic calendar | moomoo; underlying data vendor not identified | Full-access and login requirements are not specified universally. | Scheduled macro events with actual, forecast and previous data; it does not capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event. |
| Review price movement | Price charts | moomoo platform; exact chart or data vendor not identified | Available through supported platforms; demo or live eligibility varies. | Historical and live charting with indicators; depth depends on timeframe, data feed and platform features. |
| Access quotes and fundamentals | Market data | moomoo platform; underlying venue or vendor varies | Real-time status and access vary by instrument, venue and data entitlement; login or exchange permissions may be required. | Coverage and quote timing depend on the exchange and licensed feed. |
| Build trading knowledge | Courses, webinars and articles | moomoo | Access conditions are not stated as a single universal rule; availability may vary by account, platform, region or login status. | Educational resources are available; depth and coverage are not specified. |
Who moomoo Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Active stock and options traders | The platform combines stocks, options, market data, charting and community features across mobile and desktop. | Options access and margin strategies require approval; margin interest can apply. |
| Cash-only investors | A cash account supports 1:1 trading and has no stated minimum deposit. | Cash accounts do not support margin or short selling, and options strategies are limited to lower approval levels. |
| Quantitative or automated traders | OpenAPI supports program trading, and the proprietary platform includes cloud-based algorithmic services. | API permissions and product access vary by region and account; TradingView strategies alone do not provide universal live execution. |
| Multi-asset traders | Stocks, options, ETFs and spot crypto through a separate service are available. | Forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered in the instrument reference. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Serving entity and eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Confirm that your country is eligible and identify the contracting entity; product availability, rules and protections differ by region.
Margin access and minimum Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Margin trading requires approval and has a stated $2,500 minimum; assets below $2,000 may be restricted to cash trading.
Currency conversion Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Allow for an exchange-rate markup, frequently around 0.4%–0.5%, when converting funds or trading in a currency different from your base currency.
Crypto account protection Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Crypto accounts are not SIPC-protected; SIPC protection applies to eligible U.S. securities accounts within the stated limits.
FxFind's Assessment on moomoo
moomoo combines stock and options access with market data, charting and mobile and desktop trading tools. Its offering is focused rather than universal: forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered, while crypto is handled through a separate service. No stated commission does not mean trading is cost-free; currency conversion can add an exchange-rate markup, and margin borrowing can incur interest.
Active stock and options traders who value an integrated platform may find its features relevant, provided their region and account qualify. Traders who need broad multi-asset access, a dedicated swap-free account or negative-balance protection across the account may find the setup less suitable. The applicable entity also determines product access and investor protection, so the U.S. SIPC framework should not be treated as a group-wide guarantee.
Review method: This assessment uses FxFind category scores, broker product information, regulatory and entity details, and customer-opinion themes represented in the review. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About moomoo
Which legal entity serves moomoo clients?
The contracting entity depends on the client’s location. Listed entities include Moomoo Financial Inc. in the United States, Moomoo Financial Singapore Pte. Ltd. in Singapore, and separate licensed entities in Australia, Canada, Japan and Hong Kong. The entity determines applicable rules, product access and protections.
Does moomoo offer forex, indices or commodities?
Forex, indices, commodities and bonds are marked as not offered in the instrument reference. The listed markets focus on stocks, options, ETFs and spot cryptocurrency through a separate service.
What is the minimum deposit for a moomoo account?
No minimum deposit is stated for opening an account, and the listed ACH and wire deposit minimums are $0. Margin trading is separate: it requires approval and has a stated minimum of $2,500.
Does moomoo charge commissions or currency conversion fees?
The commission field says “No,” but currency conversion fees apply as a markup embedded in the exchange rate, frequently around 0.4%–0.5%. This cost can arise when funding in a non-base currency or trading assets denominated in another currency.
Does moomoo offer margin and short selling?
Margin accounts support margin trading and short selling, subject to approval and instrument availability. The stated margin-trading minimum is $2,500, and assets below $2,000 may be restricted to cash trading under the account conditions.
Are moomoo accounts protected by SIPC?
Eligible U.S. brokerage accounts are protected by SIPC up to $500,000, including up to $250,000 for cash; SIPC does not protect against market losses. Crypto accounts are not SIPC-protected, and the U.S. protection framework should not be assumed to apply to clients of other regional entities.
Can moomoo automatically copy another investor’s trades?
The Pick Up feature lets users replicate professional, institutional or strategy portfolios, but focuses on portfolio allocation rather than real-time mirroring of another user’s trades. The Moo community separately supports discussion and portfolio sharing.