The Octa Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | No trading commission, a $25 minimum deposit and three platform setups: MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader. |
| Main limitation | Leverage, protections and available services depend on the client’s contracting entity and location; the international 1:1000 forex ceiling does not apply everywhere. |
| Most natural fit | Beginner and intermediate forex traders seeking commission-free trading, particularly in Southeast Asia and Africa, where Octa identifies its core audience. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader setups, each with a $25 minimum deposit and no trading commission. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.07/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 7.0 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.8 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 9.3 |
| Tradable Instruments | 7.5 |
| Setup | 8.5 |
| Account Opening | 9.5 |
| Customer Support | 8.5 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.5 |
| Market Research and Education | 8.0 |
Octa combines a modest minimum deposit and commission-free pricing with several platform options. A key consideration is whether the entity serving the account offers the leverage and protections the client expects.
Pros
-
The minimum deposit is $25 across the MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader setups.
-
Octa charges no trading commission, deposit fee, withdrawal fee, inactivity fee or currency conversion fee.
-
MT4 and MT5 support desktop Expert Advisors, while OctaTrader is a proprietary web and mobile option.
-
Copy trading is available through Octa Copy.
Cons
-
The 1:1000 forex maximum applies to the international offering; leverage limits differ under stricter regional rules.
-
Octa excludes residents of several countries, including the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, India and the European Union.
-
Customer feedback on support is mixed, with funding and withdrawal cases contributing to inconsistent experiences.
-
Octa does not offer bonds.
Octa by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EEA / Cyprus | Octa Markets Cyprus Ltd | CySEC | 372/18 | The Cyprus/EEA MiFID framework applies. Retail leverage, product rules and complaint arrangements differ from those of offshore entities; compensation eligibility depends on the entity and client. |
Octa identifies regulatory jurisdictions that include the European Union, South Africa, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Comoros. The contracting entity matters: the Cyprus/EEA arrangement is identified above, and international leverage terms should not be assumed to apply to clients served under other rules.
Client-Fund and Balance Protections
Octa says it segregates client funds from company operating capital and provides negative balance protection. Its general profile states that there is no investor compensation scheme; for Cyprus/EEA clients, eligibility for compensation depends on the entity and client. These protections are distinct: segregation and negative balance protection do not establish eligibility for compensation if a firm fails.
Corporate Transparency and Ownership
Octa was founded in 2011, is not publicly traded and is headquartered in Saint Lucia.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
Octa uses floating spreads and charges no trading commission. The instrument figures below are broker-reported averages, not guaranteed execution prices or advertised minimum spreads.
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.9 pips | No | Floating spread. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.7 pips | No | Floating spread. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.2 points | No | Floating spread. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 1.5 points | No | Floating spread. |
The MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader setups advertise spreads from 0.6 pips. This is a minimum, not a substitute for the instrument-specific averages above; actual spread costs depend on market and trading conditions.
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Swap or rollover charges | Overnight swap fees: No. |
| Leaving an account inactive | Inactivity fee | No inactivity fee. |
| Depositing funds | Broker deposit fee | No deposit fee; payment-provider or network charges may apply. |
| Withdrawing funds | Broker withdrawal fee | No withdrawal fee; payment-provider or network charges may apply. |
| Converting account currency | Currency conversion fee | No currency conversion fee. |
Among the costs covered here, the floating spread is the main trading-cost variable rather than commission or account-maintenance charges. Payment providers and crypto networks may impose separate fees.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
High International Forex Leverage Comes With Entity Limits
The international offering advertises forex leverage up to 1:1000, but this is a ceiling, not a universal account condition. For example, forex leverage under the EU’s CySEC framework is typically capped at 1:30. High leverage increases the market exposure controlled by a given margin and magnifies gains and losses. Check the rules attached to the contracting entity before assessing margin requirements.
No Commission Does Not Mean a Fixed Trading Cost
Octa charges no trading commission and uses floating spreads. Instrument averages provide a more useful cost reference than the advertised starting spread, but spreads can change with market conditions. Traders comparing frequent entries and exits should consider the full spread cost, not commission alone.
Platform Choice Determines the Automation Route
MT4 and MT5 provide desktop environments for Expert Advisors, while OctaTrader is Octa’s proprietary web and mobile platform and is not documented as a user-programmable algorithmic engine. Traders who need custom code and strategy testing have a clearer route through MetaTrader. Those who prefer OctaTrader should not assume it offers equivalent EA functionality.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | MetaTrader 4 | Spread from 0.6 pips; no trading commission; swap-free positioning. | MT4 desktop supports Expert Advisors and MQL4. | Full EA and custom-script use is desktop/VPS-centric; web and mobile clients lack the full desktop automation environment. | MetaTrader users seeking desktop-based EA trading. |
| MetaTrader 5 | MetaTrader 5 | Spread from 0.6 pips; no trading commission; swap-free positioning. | MT5 desktop supports Expert Advisors, MQL5 and Strategy Tester. | Full EA development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric; browser and mobile versions focus on trading and monitoring. | Traders seeking MT5 automation and its Strategy Tester. |
| OctaTrader | OctaTrader | Spread from 0.6 pips; no trading commission. | User-programmable algorithmic automation is not documented. | Proprietary web platform with mobile access through the Octa Trading App; no native desktop client. | Traders who prefer Octa’s own web and mobile platform. |
Each setup has a $25 minimum deposit. Demo accounts are also available for platform familiarisation before opening a live account.
Platform-Specific Differences
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OctaTrader | Yes | No native desktop client; browser-based | Octa Trading App on Android and iOS | User-programmable algorithmic engine not documented | Web and mobile proprietary platform. |
| MetaTrader 4 | Yes, WebTrader | Yes | iOS and Android | Expert Advisors (MQL4) on desktop/VPS | Full automation and custom scripting are desktop/VPS-centric. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Yes, WebTerminal | Yes | iOS and Android | Expert Advisors (MQL5), Strategy Tester and desktop/VPS automation | Full code development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. |
Practical Setup Assessment
MT4 and MT5 support algorithmic trading through their built-in programming environments and Expert Advisors. Octa does not offer a separate standalone REST or WebSocket API for direct programmatic trading. For social or copy trading, Octa Copy lets users mirror Master Traders, review performance statistics and stop copying; Master Traders typically charge 0%–50% of the profit generated. These are distinct routes: MetaTrader supports coded strategies, while Octa Copy handles trade mirroring.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
Octa allows scalping, hedging, news trading and Expert Advisors. When slippage occurs, an order is executed at the next best available price, which may differ from the requested level. Octa prohibits practices such as latency arbitrage and platform abuse.
Leverage
The figures below are maximum retail leverage for Octa’s international offering, not guaranteed limits for every position or entity. Maximum leverage can be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news events, and under another legal entity. The international forex ceiling does not apply to all regional clients; forex leverage under stricter EU/CySEC rules is typically capped at 1:30.
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:1000 | - | International offering; can fall for larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 1:400 | - | International offering; can fall for larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 1:1000 | - | International offering; can fall for larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1:40 | - | International offering; can fall for larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:200 | - | International offering; crypto access and maximum leverage vary by entity and jurisdiction, and can fall for larger positions or during volatility/news. |
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
Octa sets the margin call level at 25% and the stop-out margin level at 15%. If open positions move against the account, falling margin levels can trigger a stop-out and position closures. Negative balance protection is intended to prevent clients from owing Octa more than their deposited funds.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | Permitted across account types. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Permitted on MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader, including swap-free accounts; latency arbitrage and platform abuse are prohibited. |
| Expert Advisors | Allowed | MetaTrader automation is supported through the platform’s built-in MQL environment. |
| Direct API trading | No standalone REST or WebSocket API | Automated strategies can use MT5’s MQL5 environment and Expert Advisors. |
| News trading | Allowed | Market volatility can increase risk during news events. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 35 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply. | Maximum leverage can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Indices | 10 | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives. | Maximum leverage can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Commodities | 5 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives. | Maximum leverage can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Stocks | 150 | Share CFDs; no ownership or voting rights. | Maximum leverage can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | 32 | Crypto access varies by entity and jurisdiction. | Maximum leverage can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
Octa offers stock exposure through share CFDs, not ownership of the underlying shares or associated voting rights. Bonds are not available, so clients seeking direct bond-market exposure need another product structure.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
Octa excludes residents of Canada, the European Union, Iran, Israel, Japan, Myanmar, New Zealand, North Korea, the Philippines, the United Kingdom, the United States, India, Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates. Establish country eligibility before registration, as the available legal entity and terms depend on the client’s residence.
A demo account can be opened without identity documents. For a real trading account, Octa requires KYC verification before clients can trade with real funds or make withdrawals. Required documents are a valid government-issued photo ID and proof of address, such as a recent utility bill, bank statement or official tax document dated within the last six months.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | Send BTC only to the Bitcoin address and network shown in the deposit instructions. Incorrectly addressed transfers may be irreversible. |
| Ethereum | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | Send ETH only using the network shown in the deposit instructions. Do not use another Ethereum-compatible or Layer-2 network unless explicitly supported. |
| Litecoin | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | Send LTC only to the Litecoin address and network shown in the deposit instructions. Incorrectly addressed transfers may be irreversible. |
| Mastercard | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Neteller | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | An eligible NETELLER account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Skrill | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | An eligible Skrill account is required. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Tether | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | USDT is available on multiple networks. Use only the exact network and address shown in the deposit instructions; a network mismatch may result in permanent loss. |
| Visa | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Instant–1 hour | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $25 | Free / no broker commission; payment-provider or network charges may apply | Bank-route dependent; some current official bank routes list 3–7 business days | Use the exact beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then typically up to 30 minutes | Use a valid Bitcoin address and supported network; crypto withdrawals are irreversible. |
| Ethereum | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then typically up to 30 minutes | Use the exact supported network and receiving address; do not assume other EVM networks are accepted. |
| Litecoin | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then typically up to 30 minutes | Use a valid Litecoin address and supported network; crypto withdrawals are irreversible. |
| Mastercard | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours broker processing; issuer settlement may take additional days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Neteller | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then usually minutes | An eligible NETELLER account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Skrill | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then usually minutes | An eligible Skrill account is required; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Tether | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours approval, then typically up to 30 minutes | USDT uses multiple networks; select the exact supported network to avoid loss of funds. |
| Visa | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | 1–3 hours broker processing; issuer settlement may take additional days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | 90 ZAR (South Africa) / 3,000 NGN (Nigeria); method/region dependent | No standard broker fee, provider/network fees may apply | Some bank methods can take about 3–7 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Octa says it charges no internal deposit or withdrawal fees, but payment-provider, intermediary-bank and network costs may still apply. Minimum withdrawals and processing times vary by method and region. Card withdrawals are limited to supported payout or refund routes, and crypto transfers require the supported network and address.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| [email protected] | 24/7 | Human / agent-assisted | Language not listed; asynchronous; verification may be required. | |
| Live Chat | Live chat | 24/7 | Human / agent-assisted | Languages not listed. |
Customer feedback is mixed. Some clients describe helpful assistance and effective resolution, including for withdrawal queries. Others report funding problems and difficulty resolving withdrawal issues, making the experience less consistent.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market context and headlines | Market Analysis, Market News, Live Quotes | Octa | Public-versus-login access is not specified universally; availability can vary by entity and platform. Live-quote access and real-time status vary by instrument, venue and data entitlement. | Analysis coverage and publishing frequency vary. News coverage and latency vary by market. Quotes may be indicative or delayed, and spreads can differ from last trade. |
| Scheduled events | Economic Calendar | Octa | Full-access and login requirements are not specified universally; availability can vary by entity and platform. | Shows scheduled macroeconomic events with actual, forecast and previous data; it cannot capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event. |
| Technical screening | Autochartist Market Reports | Autochartist | Free with Silver user status or higher; status rules can change. | Automated pattern recognition and volatility scanning are technical tools limited to supported instruments and patterns. |
| Trade and risk calculations | Trading Calculators | Octa | Web- or platform-based; one universal login or subscription rule is not specified. | Margin, pip value, swaps or risk calculations are indicative; final trading costs can differ. |
| Learning and platform reference | Tutorials, articles, webinars, glossary, FAQs, manuals, trading strategies and a video course | Octa | Access requirements are not specified. | The library covers educational and reference material; its coverage does not remove the risk of trading leveraged products. |
Who Octa Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Beginner or intermediate forex trader seeking a low entry threshold | The platform setups have a $25 minimum deposit, demo accounts are available, and Octa charges no trading commission. | Floating spreads remain a material part of trading costs, and real-account KYC is required before trading with funds or withdrawing. |
| MetaTrader algorithmic trader | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors through MQL4 and MQL5; MT5 also includes a Strategy Tester. | Full automation and code development are desktop/VPS-centric; there is no standalone REST or WebSocket trading API. |
| Trader who wants to mirror other strategies | Octa Copy provides Master Trader statistics, copying controls and the ability to stop copying. | Master Traders typically charge 0%–50% of the profit they generate, and copied trades can lose money. |
| Trader seeking diversified CFD exposure | Octa offers forex, indices, commodities, stock CFDs and cryptocurrencies. | Bonds are not offered; stock CFDs do not provide share ownership or voting rights. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Country eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Octa excludes residents of Canada, the European Union, Iran, Israel, Japan, Myanmar, New Zealand, North Korea, the Philippines, the United Kingdom, the United States, India, Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates. Confirm eligibility and the contracting entity before opening or funding an account.
Entity-specific leverage Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
The 1:1000 forex maximum applies to the international offering; EU/CySEC forex leverage is typically capped at 1:30. Identify the entity serving your account before planning margin use.
KYC before live trading and withdrawals Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
A real account requires a government-issued photo ID and proof of address dated within the last six months before trading with real funds or making withdrawals.
Withdrawal minima and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Withdrawal minimums and processing times depend on the method and region. Card payouts require supported refund or payout routes, while crypto withdrawals require the exact supported network and address.
Payment-provider and network charges Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Octa charges no internal deposit or withdrawal fee, but providers, intermediary banks and crypto networks may charge separately. Check the payment route and transfer details before sending funds.
FxFind's Assessment on Octa
Octa combines a $25 entry deposit and no trading commission with a choice of MetaTrader platforms or its own platform. Octa Copy and MT4/MT5 automation provide separate routes for mirroring strategies or running Expert Advisors. Spreads float, however, so zero commission does not represent the full trading cost.
Eligibility, leverage and client protections depend on the contracting entity. The international forex ceiling of 1:1000 should not be assumed to apply in every region, and negative balance protection or fund segregation is not a substitute for compensation eligibility. The offering may suit beginner and intermediate forex traders who qualify for the service and accept spread-based pricing. Traders requiring a particular regulatory framework, bonds or a standalone trading API may find the setup less suitable.
Review method: This assessment draws on broker product and pricing information, entity and licence details, instrument and platform specifications, and FxFind category scoring. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About Octa
Which Octa entity serves EU or Cyprus clients?
Octa Markets Cyprus Ltd is identified as the contracting entity for the EEA/Cyprus group and is regulated by CySEC under licence 372/18. The Cyprus/EEA MiFID framework applies, with retail leverage and complaint arrangements that differ from those of offshore entities.
What is Octa’s minimum deposit?
The minimum deposit is $25 for the MT4, MT5 and OctaTrader setups. Payment-method availability and processing conditions vary by route and region.
Does Octa charge commission or overnight swaps?
Octa charges no trading commission, and its general pricing profile reports no overnight swap fees. Spreads float, so they remain a trading cost even when commission is zero.
Is 1:1000 leverage available to every Octa client?
No. The 1:1000 forex maximum applies to the international offering. Leverage can be lower for larger positions, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. Forex leverage under EU/CySEC rules is typically capped at 1:30.
Can Octa clients use Expert Advisors or a trading API?
MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors through their MQL programming environments, with full automation functions centred on desktop or VPS use. Octa does not offer a standalone REST or WebSocket API for direct programmatic trading.
What verification is required to withdraw from Octa?
Octa requires KYC verification before withdrawals from a real account. Clients need a valid government-issued photo ID and proof of address dated within the last six months.
Does Octa offer bonds or direct stock ownership?
No. Octa does not offer bonds, and its stock exposure consists of share CFDs. These CFDs do not provide ownership of the underlying shares or voting rights.
How long do Octa withdrawals take?
Timing depends on the withdrawal route. Crypto and e-wallet withdrawals typically involve 1–3 hours for approval followed by minutes for transfer. Card settlement can take additional days, while some bank methods can take about 3–7 business days.