The Plus500 Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | A proprietary WebTrader and mobile setup for self-directed CFD trading across several asset classes. |
| Main limitation | The standard CFD platform does not support third-party platforms or user-programmable automation, and offers no native copy trading. |
| Most natural fit | Beginner and intermediate CFD traders who prefer a proprietary platform to complex third-party software. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | One listed real-money account type, Live, using Plus500 WebTrader and mobile apps; futures and options API services are separate from the standard CFD platform. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.67/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 9.8/10 |
| Fees and Commissions | 8.0/10 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.5/10 |
| Tradable Instruments | 8.5/10 |
| Setup | 9.0/10 |
| Account Opening | 9.0/10 |
| Customer Support | 8.0/10 |
| Trading Conditions | 8.0/10 |
| Market Research and Education | 7.0/10 |
The key question is whether WebTrader’s simpler, self-contained workflow outweighs the flexibility of third-party platforms and automation. The account’s contracting entity also affects costs and protections.
Pros
-
WebTrader and mobile apps provide a proprietary way to trade CFDs across multiple asset classes.
-
The broker offers a demo account, market insights, an economic calendar and price charts.
-
Client funds are segregated, and negative balance protection is offered where required.
Cons
-
The standard retail CFD platform does not support third-party platforms or user-programmable automation.
-
Native copy trading and social trading are not available.
-
Overnight funding, inactivity and currency conversion fees can add to trading costs.
Plus500 by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australia | Plus500AU Pty Ltd | ASIC | 417727 | Australian retail CFD rules apply to retail clients, including leverage limits, margin close-out and negative-balance protections; professional-client treatment differs. |
| Canada | Plus500 Canada Ltd | CIRO | CIRO Investment Dealer | Canadian investment-dealer rules govern product availability, margin and investor-protection arrangements, which differ from those of offshore CFD entities. |
| EEA / Cyprus | Plus500CY Ltd | CySEC | 250/14 | The Cyprus/EEA MiFID framework applies. Retail leverage and product rules, complaint routes and compensation eligibility depend on the entity and client. |
| Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients | Plus500AE Ltd | DFSA | F005651 | Permitted client categories and services depend on the entity’s DFSA permissions; protections differ from UK, EU and Australian retail regimes. |
| United Kingdom | Plus500UK Ltd | FCA | 509909 | UK FCA rules govern retail leverage, client-money safeguards and complaint or compensation routes; eligibility rules apply. |
| New Zealand | Plus500AU Pty Ltd / New Zealand-registered branch | FMA (New Zealand) | FSP486026 | New Zealand rules apply; product and dispute-resolution arrangements differ from those of other entities. |
| South Africa (or clients routed to SA entity) | Plus500AU Pty Ltd (South Africa-authorised) | FSCA | 47546 | The South African framework applies. The entity’s role as product issuer or intermediary affects the applicable protections and product terms. |
| Japan | Plus500JP Securities Ltd | JFSA | 156 | Japan-specific product and leverage requirements apply; the Japanese entity’s terms govern. |
| Singapore | Plus500SG Pte. Ltd. | MAS | CMS100648 | Product availability, eligibility and client-money or custody rules follow the Singapore entity and may differ from those of other group entities. |
| International / Bahamas entity (subject to exclusions) | Plus500BHS Ltd | SCB (Bahamas) | SIA-F250 | UK, EU and Australian retail protections and compensation schemes do not automatically apply; leverage, products and dispute routes may differ. |
Protection by Entity
Plus500 segregates client funds from company funds and offers negative balance protection where required. These safeguards do not prevent clients from losing their full deposit. UK clients may be eligible for FSCS compensation of up to £85,000 per person; eligibility depends on the applicable rules and the client’s circumstances.
Corporate Transparency and Ownership
Founded in 2008, Plus500 is publicly traded on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker PLUS. The group includes separately regulated entities, so protections associated with the listed parent should not be confused with the rules governing an individual trading account.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.8 pips | No commission | Spreads float; overnight funding may apply to positions held past the relevant cut-off. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 1.1 pips | No commission | Spreads float; overnight funding may apply to positions held past the relevant cut-off. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.4 points | No commission | Spread and overnight funding are instrument-specific. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.7 points | No commission | Spread and overnight funding are instrument-specific. |
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding a CFD position past the daily cut-off | Overnight funding fee; it may be positive or negative | Calculated by instrument and shown in the platform’s instrument details. A weekend charge applies on Friday or Wednesday, depending on the asset. |
| Not logging in for more than three months | $10 per month | Inactivity fee applies after three months without logging in. |
| Trading an instrument in a currency different from the account’s base currency | Up to 0.7% of realized net profit or loss | The conversion fee is reflected in the rate when a position is opened or closed. |
| Withdrawing through Plus500 Futures | First monthly withdrawal free; then 1.75% (minimum $1, maximum $150) | This fee schedule applies to Plus500 Futures; CFD withdrawal charges depend on the entity and product. |
With no trade commission, spreads and holding time are the main direct cost drivers for CFD users. Overnight positions, inactivity and cross-currency trading can change the total cost; the Futures withdrawal schedule is a separate product-specific charge.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
A Simple Proprietary Workflow Versus Platform Flexibility
WebTrader is Plus500’s proprietary browser platform, with separate mobile apps and a desktop option. The standard CFD setup stays within the broker’s system, but does not support MetaTrader 4 or 5, third-party plugins or user-programmable trading. Manual traders seeking a straightforward interface may accept this limitation; those relying on custom tools or automation may not.
Broad CFD Coverage Versus Derivative Exposure
Plus500 offers CFDs on forex, shares, indices, commodities, ETFs and cryptocurrencies. Plus500 Invest offers real-share dealing in selected regions. CFDs provide price exposure, not ownership of the underlying asset; crypto CFDs likewise do not confer ownership of coins. Traders seeking direct ownership or a broader range of investment products should distinguish those needs from the CFD offering.
No Trade Commission Versus Holding and Currency Costs
Plus500 charges no commission on the listed CFD pricing model, but that does not make every trade cost-free. Floating spreads, overnight funding, an inactivity fee after three months and conversion charges can affect the result. Comparing brokers on commission alone therefore misses other parts of the cost structure.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live | Plus500 WebTrader; Plus500 mobile apps | Instrument-specific floating bid/ask spread; generally no trade commission. Overnight, inactivity and guaranteed-stop fees may apply where applicable. | No user-programmable algorithmic engine on the retail CFD WebTrader. Futures and options API services are separate. | One listed real-money CFD account type; minimum deposit is payment-method-specific, with the platform showing the applicable amount. | Self-directed manual CFD trading through Plus500’s proprietary system. |
Platform-Specific Differences
WebTrader runs in a browser rather than as a native desktop installation. Plus500 mobile apps are separate, and the proprietary design is not interchangeable with third-party trading software. Plus500 Futures Technologies offers API trading for futures and options through its separate T4 platform, including .NET and FIX APIs; this is not the standard retail CFD platform.
Practical Setup Assessment
The standard route is manual trading through WebTrader or the mobile apps. The retail CFD platform offers neither native copy or social trading nor algorithmic trading. Traders seeking API access should distinguish the separate Futures Technologies service from a standard CFD account.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
Plus500’s standard CFD platform uses floating spreads. Price differences at execution are a normal feature of trading, so requested and executed prices can differ. The platform provides stop-loss, trailing-stop and guaranteed-stop orders; guaranteed stops carry a fee where applicable.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 1:30 | 1:300 | EU/UK-style retail limits and the Plus500 Pro schedule; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
| Indices | 1:20 | 1:300 | EU/UK-style retail limits and the Plus500 Pro schedule; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 1:20 | 1:150 | EU/UK-style retail limits and the Plus500 Pro schedule; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1:5 | 1:20 | EU/UK-style retail limits and the Plus500 Pro schedule; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
| Bonds | - | - | Not offered. |
| Cryptocurrencies | 1:2 | N/A | EU/UK-style retail limits; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
| Other | 1:5 | 1:5 | Futures, options and region-specific products; maximum can fall with larger positions, volatility, news or another legal entity. |
These limits do not apply universally to every Plus500 client. The applicable entity and client classification matter, and the maximum may be lower for a particular position or market condition.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
The stated margin call level is 100%, and the stop-out margin level is 50%. Plus500 also describes a margin-call feature that closes positions if funds are exhausted; negative balance protection does not prevent the loss of the full account balance.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Not allowed | Trades opened and closed within a very short period—generally under two minutes—may be treated as prohibited scalping and can lead to trade or account restrictions. |
| Hedging | Not allowed on the main CFD platform | The platform generally nets opposite positions in the same instrument rather than maintaining them separately. |
| News trading | Allowed | Volatility can cause slippage. An economic calendar is available, but there is no dedicated real-time news feed. |
| API trading | Available through a separate service | Plus500 Futures Technologies provides futures and options API access through T4; it is not available on the standard retail CFD platform. |
| Automated data entry systems | Prohibited | The standard CFD platform does not support user-programmable algorithmic trading. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 71 | Margin FX trading; swaps may apply | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Indices | 42 | Cash- and futures-referenced index derivatives | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Commodities | 32 | Spot- and futures-referenced commodity derivatives | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Stocks | 1700 | Share CFDs; real shares in selected regions | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | 28 | Crypto CFDs; no underlying coin ownership | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
| Other | 125 | Futures, options and region-specific products | Maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
The range is primarily derivative-based: share and crypto CFDs do not convey ownership of the underlying assets. Plus500 Invest offers real shares in selected regions, separately from the CFD product range.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
Plus500 lists one real-money account type, Live, and also offers a demo account. Opening a Live account requires identity and residential-address verification. The stated documents are a government-issued identity document and a utility bill or bank statement showing the applicant’s name and address; phone and payment-method ownership verification may also be required. The broker’s restricted-country list includes the United States, Belgium, India, Brazil, Russia and other jurisdictions, so eligibility depends on location and contracting entity.
The typical minimum deposit is $100, or a currency equivalent, for most listed payment methods. Some bank transfers may require more; the platform shows the applicable minimum. Deposits in a currency other than the account’s base currency can incur conversion fees.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pay | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Requires a supported Apple device, eligible card and supported country or region. Availability also depends on the broker’s payment provider. |
| Google Pay | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Requires a supported device or country and an eligible card or bank account. Availability depends on the issuer and the broker’s payment provider. |
| Mastercard | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Your card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| PayPal | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Requires an eligible PayPal account in a supported country. Currency, account status and payment-feature availability may vary. |
| Skrill | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Requires an eligible Skrill account. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Visa | $100 | No broker deposit fee | Immediate | Your card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $100 | No broker deposit fee | 1–3 business days | Use the exact beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pay | $100 equivalent | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | Usually 1–3 business days broker processing; card/provider settlement time additional | Not a standalone payout balance; refunds return to the original linked payment card. |
| Google Pay | $100 equivalent | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | Usually 1–3 business days broker processing; card/provider settlement time additional | Not a standalone payout balance; refunds return to the original linked payment method. |
| Mastercard | $100 | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | 1–3 business days broker processing, then card-provider settlement | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| PayPal | $50 | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | 1–3 business days broker processing | Requires an eligible PayPal account; country, verification, currency and account limits apply. |
| Skrill | $50 | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | 1–3 business days broker processing | Requires an eligible Skrill account; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Visa | $100 | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | 1–3 business days broker processing, then card-provider settlement | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $100 | Entity/product-dependent, many CFD entities free, Plus500 Futures - first monthly withdrawal free, then 1.75% (min $1, max $150) | 1–3 business days broker processing, then bank settlement | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Withdrawals are subject to account verification and payment-provider requirements. Card refunds return to the original linked payment card; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not standalone payout balances. Broker processing is separate from card-provider or bank settlement, and withdrawal fees differ between CFD entities and Plus500 Futures.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contact Form | Online submission | 24/7 submission; support team available 24/7 | Human follow-up / asynchronous | Multilingual |
| Live Chat | Online chat | 24/7 | Human / agent-assisted | Multilingual |
Customer feedback is mixed. Some users report quick responses and helpful account managers, while others cite difficulties with withdrawals and deposit support. The service is available around the clock, but funding-related issues are not always resolved consistently.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market context | Market Insights | Plus500; no external research provider identified | Public-versus-login access is not specified universally; availability can vary by entity and platform. | High-level market context and themes rather than a standardized formal research report. |
| Scheduled event awareness | Economic Calendar | Plus500; underlying data vendor not identified | Full-access or login requirements are not specified universally and may vary by entity or platform. | Scheduled macro events with actual, forecast and previous data; does not capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event. |
| Chart-based analysis | Price Charts | Plus500 platform; exact chart and data vendor not identified | Available through supported trading platforms; demo/live eligibility varies by entity and platform. | Historical and live charting, with depth depending on timeframe, data feed and platform features. |
Education is available through the Trading Academy, Trader’s Guide, videos, FAQs and platform tutorials. These resources focus on trading and platform guidance; they do not replace independent analysis, especially as the standard CFD platform has no dedicated real-time news feed.
Who Plus500 Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Self-directed beginner or intermediate CFD trader | WebTrader and mobile apps provide a proprietary route to a range of CFD markets, with a demo account and platform tutorials available. | The platform has no native copy trading, and CFD trading can result in the loss of the full account balance. |
| Manual trader who prefers a single proprietary platform | The standard setup combines browser-based WebTrader, separate mobile apps and broker-provided market tools. | Third-party retail platforms and user-programmable automation are not supported. |
| Trader seeking automated or social strategies | Plus500 Futures Technologies offers separate API services for futures and options. | That service is distinct from the retail CFD platform, which has no user-programmable algorithmic engine or native copy trading. |
| Investor seeking real-share dealing | Plus500 Invest offers real shares in selected regions. | Availability is regional, and the main Plus500 CFD offering does not provide ownership of underlying assets. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Contracting entity and eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Confirm that Plus500 accepts clients in your country and identify the entity governing your account; restrictions, product access and protections vary by jurisdiction.
Account-specific leverage Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Retail limits and eligible professional leverage differ by market and entity. Maximum leverage can fall for larger positions or during volatility and news.
Total trading and account costs Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Review the instrument’s spread and overnight funding, along with the $10 monthly inactivity fee after three months and conversion charges of up to 0.7% on realized net profit or loss.
Withdrawal route and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Withdrawal minimums, fees and settlement times depend on the payment method and product; Plus500 Futures has a separate fee schedule after the first monthly withdrawal.
FxFind's Assessment on Plus500
Plus500 offers a self-directed CFD setup across multiple asset classes through WebTrader and mobile apps, alongside a demo account and basic market tools. The standard retail CFD platform is closed to third-party software, user-programmable automation and native copy trading. Its no-commission model should also be considered alongside floating spreads, overnight funding, inactivity charges and currency conversion costs.
Beginner and intermediate traders seeking manual CFD access who are comfortable using one broker’s platform may find this setup relevant. Traders who rely on automated strategies or social trading, or seek ownership of underlying assets, may need a different structure. Plus500’s separate futures and options API service does not change the standard CFD platform’s limitations. The contracting entity also determines applicable rules, protections, products and leverage. FxFind rates Plus500 8.67/10; its highest category score is in Trust and Safety, while platform flexibility remains a practical limitation.
Review method: This assessment uses broker product and regulatory information, FxFind category scores, asset and payment specifications, and customer-support feedback. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About Plus500
Which Plus500 entity will hold my account?
The contracting entity depends on your location and eligibility. Plus500 operates entities regulated in jurisdictions including the UK, Cyprus, Australia, Japan, Singapore and the Bahamas, among others. The entity determines applicable products, leverage rules and client protections.
What is Plus500’s minimum deposit?
The typical minimum is $100, or a currency equivalent, for most listed payment methods. Some bank transfers may require more; the platform shows the applicable minimum for the account and payment route.
Does Plus500 support MetaTrader, automated trading or copy trading?
The standard retail CFD platform is Plus500’s proprietary WebTrader and does not support MetaTrader or user-programmable algorithmic trading. Plus500 offers no native copy or social trading. Separate API services through Plus500 Futures Technologies cover futures and options, not the standard CFD platform.
What leverage can Plus500 clients use?
For EU/UK-style retail limits, the asset reference gives maximum leverage of 1:30 for forex, 1:20 for indices and commodities, 1:5 for stocks and 1:2 for cryptocurrencies. Eligible professional leverage differs by market. Applicable limits depend on the entity and client classification, and maximum leverage can fall for larger positions or during volatile conditions.
Does Plus500 charge commission or other trading fees?
The standard CFD pricing model is generally commission-free, with floating spreads. Overnight funding may apply to positions held past the cut-off, and a $10 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months without logging in. A conversion fee of up to 0.7% can apply to realized net profit or loss when the instrument currency differs from the account’s base currency.
How long do Plus500 withdrawals take, and are they free?
Broker processing for the listed methods is generally 1–3 business days, with additional settlement time for cards or banks. Fees depend on the entity and product: many CFD entities charge no withdrawal fee, while Plus500 Futures has a separate schedule after the first monthly withdrawal. Minimums also vary by method.
Can I trade real shares or cryptocurrencies with Plus500?
Plus500 offers share CFDs and crypto CFDs, which do not provide ownership of the underlying shares or coins. Real-share dealing is available through Plus500 Invest in selected regions, so access depends on location and product.