The tastyfx Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | U.S.-regulated retail spot forex, multiple platform choices, and account-specific pricing, including a no-commission Standard account and a lower-spread Zero+ account. |
| Main limitation | Forex-only access, U.S. retail leverage limits, and no negative balance protection. |
| Most natural fit | U.S.-based forex traders seeking a choice of platforms and an account suited to their trading costs and deposit size. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Standard, Zero+, Prime, MT5, IRA, and Demo accounts; platforms include tastyfx, MT4, MT5, TradingView, and ProRealTime. |
| FxFind Rating | 8.8/10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | 9.8/10 |
| Fees and Commissions | 9.0/10 |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | 8.5/10 |
| Tradable Instruments | 6.0/10 |
| Setup | 9.0/10 |
| Account Opening | 9.0/10 |
| Customer Support | 8.5/10 |
| Trading Conditions | 9.0/10 |
| Market Research and Education | 8.0/10 |
The offering is aimed at clients seeking U.S. retail forex access rather than a multi-asset account. Pricing varies by account, including spreads, commissions, and minimum deposits.
Pros
-
CFTC-registered and an NFA Forex Dealer Member for U.S. retail forex clients.
-
Several platforms are available, including MT4 and MT5 automation, TradingView, and desktop ProRealTime.
-
Standard and Zero+ accounts have no minimum initial deposit.
Cons
-
Forex is the only offered asset class.
-
U.S. retail forex clients do not receive negative balance protection.
-
Some withdrawal routes incur charges, and customers report difficulties resolving withdrawal issues.
tastyfx by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
| Client Location / Group | Contracting Entity | Regulator | Licence | What Changes for the Client |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States retail forex clients | tastyfx LLC | CFTC | 0509630 | The U.S. retail forex framework applies. tastyfx is a CFTC-registered RFED; this is not a CFD account and does not carry securities-account SIPC protection. |
| United States retail forex clients | tastyfx LLC | NFA | 0509630 | The U.S. retail forex framework applies. tastyfx is an NFA Forex Dealer Member; this is not a CFD account and does not carry securities-account SIPC protection. |
Protection by Entity
Client funds are segregated. Negative balance protection is not provided under the U.S. CFTC retail forex framework, so account balances can technically fall below zero during extreme market events.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 0.8 pips | Standard: $0 commission. Zero+: $5 per lot flat commission. Prime: no commission. | Standard spreads start at about 0.8 pips; Zero+ spreads start at 0.0 pips; Prime spreads start at about 0.6 pips. Prime requires a $50,000 minimum deposit. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 1 pip | Standard: $0 commission. Zero+: $5 per lot flat commission. Prime: no commission. | Starting spreads are about 0.8 pips for Standard, 0.0 pips for Zero+, and about 0.6 pips for Prime; the average spread is not an account-specific quote. |
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Overnight swap fees | Swap fees apply; amounts are not specified here. |
| Withdrawing funds by domestic or international wire | $25 domestic wire; $45 international wire | ACH withdrawals are $0. Check withdrawals cost $5 domestically and $10 internationally. |
| Converting account currency | Currency conversion fee | A conversion fee applies; the amount is not specified here. |
| Leaving an account inactive | No inactivity fee | No inactivity fee applies. |
| Depositing funds | No broker deposit fee | Bank or payment-provider charges may apply. |
For frequent traders, the spread-and-commission combination matters more than a headline spread alone. Overnight positions, currency conversion, and the withdrawal route can add costs beyond opening and closing a trade.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
U.S. Retail Forex Access Comes With a Narrow Market Range
For U.S. retail forex clients, tastyfx is a CFTC-registered RFED and NFA Forex Dealer Member. This structure is relevant to traders seeking domestic spot forex access, but the product range is limited to forex; indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, and cryptocurrencies are not offered. Clients seeking a multi-asset portfolio through one broker will need another arrangement.
Lower Starting Spreads Depend on the Account and Its Costs
Standard has no commission, while Zero+ pairs spreads from 0.0 pips with a $5-per-lot flat commission. Prime has no commission and spreads from about 0.6 pips, but requires a $50,000 minimum deposit. Comparing accounts requires considering both trading volume and available capital; the lowest stated spread alone does not determine the lowest overall cost.
Platform Choice Supports Different Workflows, but the Proprietary Platform Is Web and Mobile
tastyfx offers its web and mobile platform alongside MT4, MT5, TradingView, and desktop ProRealTime. MetaTrader and ProRealTime support automated strategies, but the proprietary platform is not a native desktop application. Traders who rely on desktop automation or specialist charting need a compatible third-party platform rather than assuming those tools are built into tastyfx.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | tastyfx web/mobile, TradingView, MT5 | No commission; spreads from about 0.8 pips | MT5 supports Expert Advisors; tastyfx platform automation is not documented as an in-platform programmable engine. | $0 minimum deposit. U.S. retail forex margin rules apply. | Traders preferring a no-commission pricing route. |
| Zero+ | tastyfx, MT5 | Spreads from 0.0 pips; $5 per lot flat commission | MT5 supports Expert Advisors. | $0 minimum deposit. U.S. retail forex margin rules apply. | Traders comparing tighter starting spreads with commission. |
| Prime | tastyfx, TradingView, MT5 | No commission; spreads from about 0.6 pips | MT5 supports Expert Advisors. | $50,000 minimum deposit; U.S. retail forex margin rules apply. | Traders able to meet the account’s higher minimum deposit. |
| MT5 | MetaTrader 5 | Depends on the selected MT5 pricing account | Expert Advisors, MQL5, and Strategy Tester on desktop/VPS. | $0 minimum deposit; U.S. retail FX margin rules apply. | Traders choosing MT5 as their platform. |
| IRA | tastyfx via IRA custodian integration | Underlying tastyfx FX pricing | No separate user-programmable automation capability was verified in current public documentation. | Custodian and account requirements apply; retirement restrictions affect margin borrowing. | Clients seeking a retirement-account wrapper for forex. |
| Demo | tastyfx demo platform | Simulated spreads | Simulated practice only | $0 minimum deposit; virtual funds and simulated leverage. | Practising without real-money trading. |
Platform-Specific Differences
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| tastyfx platform | Yes | No native proprietary desktop client; use the web platform on desktop | iOS and Android app | No in-platform programmable engine documented; algorithmic workflows are directed to MT4, MT5, or ProRealTime | Proprietary web/mobile experience; specialist automation uses third-party platforms. |
| MetaTrader 5 | WebTerminal | Yes | iOS and Android | MQL5 Expert Advisors and Strategy Tester on desktop/VPS | Full custom-code development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric. |
| MetaTrader 4 | WebTrader | Yes | iOS and Android | MQL4 Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS | Full EA and custom-script functions are desktop/VPS-centric. |
| TradingView | Yes | Desktop app | iOS and Android | Pine strategies, server-side alerts, and webhooks; unattended live execution requires a compatible broker/API/bridge | A Pine strategy alone does not provide universal live broker auto-execution. |
| ProRealTime | Online/launcher-based | Yes | No; tastyfx makes it available on desktop computers | ProRealTime/ProOrder algorithmic trading | Desktop-only integration; mobile trading uses the separate tastyfx app. |
Mobile Trading Experience
The tastyfx proprietary platform is available on iOS and Android, while ProRealTime is desktop-only. MetaTrader and TradingView also have mobile versions, though their full automation capabilities rely on desktop/VPS tools or compatible execution connections.
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use the tastyfx web or mobile platform; MT4 and MT5 support desktop-based Expert Advisor workflows. ProRealTime adds a desktop algorithmic route, and tastyfx also supports API trading and VPS hosting. Copy trading is not offered, but social trading is available.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
tastyfx is a market maker. Favorable and unfavorable slippage may occur in rapidly moving markets, and stop orders may execute at the next available market price. This is particularly relevant around fast-moving news or when orders remain open in volatile conditions.
Leverage
| Market | Maximum Retail Leverage | Professional / Other Eligible Leverage | What Determines It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex — United States retail forex offering | 1:50 | - | U.S. CFTC retail mandates cap leverage at 1:50 on major currency pairs. The maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility or news, or under another legal entity. |
Leverage is a margin limit, not a measure of likely return. The 1:50 maximum applies to major currency pairs under the U.S. retail offering and may be lower in the circumstances noted above.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
The margin call level is 99%, and the stop-out margin level is 50%. These thresholds affect how open positions may be managed as account equity falls relative to required margin.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| Hedging | Not allowed | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| News trading | Allowed | Slippage may occur in rapidly moving markets. |
| API trading | Available | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| VPS hosting | Available | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
| Copy trading | Not offered | Subject to the broker’s current instrument, account and legal-entity trading rules. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | 85+ | U.S.-regulated retail spot forex | Maximum retail leverage is 1:50. The maximum can fall at larger position sizes, during volatility/news, or under another legal entity. No separate professional/eligible-client leverage tier is publicly stated for this offering. |
| Indices | Not Offered | - | - |
| Commodities | Not Offered | - | - |
| Stocks | Not Offered | - | - |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | Not Offered | - | - |
| Other | Not Offered | - | - |
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
tastyfx requires identity verification (KYC). Standard and Zero+ accounts have no minimum initial deposit; Prime requires $50,000. IRA accounts are subject to custodian and account requirements. The U.S. retail forex offering is unavailable in a number of countries, including Algeria, Egypt, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Iran, Iraq, Pakistan, Russia, Ukraine, and Venezuela.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACH Transfer | $0 | No broker deposit fee, bank fees may apply | 1–3 business days | Available only for eligible U.S. bank accounts. Enter the correct routing and account details; bank verification, returns, and holding periods may apply. |
| Mastercard | $0 | No broker deposit fee, bank fees may apply | Immediate | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency, and authentication limits may apply. |
| Visa | $0 | No broker deposit fee, bank fees may apply | Immediate | The card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency, and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $0 | No broker deposit fee, bank fees may apply | 1–3 business days | Use the beneficiary, bank details, and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion, and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACH Transfer | $100 unless remaining account balance is lower | No standard broker fee publicly stated for ACH/card, wire/bank charges may depend on route | About 3–5 business days | U.S. bank accounts only; routing, account ownership, and bank verification requirements apply. |
| Mastercard | $100 unless remaining account balance is lower | No standard broker fee publicly stated for ACH/card, wire/bank charges may depend on route | About 3–5 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Visa | $100 unless remaining account balance is lower | No standard broker fee publicly stated for ACH/card, wire/bank charges may depend on route | About 3–5 business days | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $100 unless remaining account balance is lower | No standard broker fee publicly stated for ACH/card, wire/bank charges may depend on route | Wire often within 24 hours after processing | Enter bank, recipient, and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
ACH withdrawals are $0; outgoing domestic wire transfers cost $25, and international wires cost $45. Check withdrawals cost $5 domestically and $10 internationally. Customers report difficulty resolving withdrawal issues, so the route and expected timing are relevant operational considerations.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Live chat | Within the support window | Human / agent-assisted | Language not listed |
| [email protected] | Messages accepted 24/7; staffed within the support window | Human / agent-assisted | U.S.-focused service; asynchronous | |
| Phone | 312-981-0498 | Saturday 03:00 ET to Friday 17:00 ET | Human / agent-assisted | Language not listed |
Some customers report that withdrawal problems are difficult to resolve through direct support channels, while isolated feedback describes practical, helpful guidance. Support is available 24 hours a day from Saturday 03:00 to Friday 17:00 EST.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Follow scheduled economic events | Economic calendar | tastyfx calendar; underlying data vendor not identified | Full-access/login requirements are not specified and may vary by entity or platform. | Scheduled events include actual, forecast, and previous data; unscheduled news is not captured. |
| Track market developments | Market analysis and market news | First-party tastyfx market analysis; tastyfx news feed, with external news vendor not identified | Public-versus-login access is not specified and may vary by entity or platform. | Commentary coverage and publishing frequency vary; headline coverage and latency may vary. |
| Review price movement | Price charts | tastyfx platform and MetaTrader where offered; exact chart/data vendor not identified | Available through supported trading platforms; demo/live access varies by platform. | Chart depth depends on timeframe, data feed, and platform features. |
| Build trading knowledge | Articles and guides | Broker / platform provider not separately identified in current public documentation. | Access conditions are not stated as a single universal rule; availability may vary by account, platform, region or login status. | Coverage, depth and update frequency vary by topic/resource; the material is informational rather than personalised advice. |
Who tastyfx Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| U.S.-based spot forex trader | The offering focuses on U.S.-regulated retail spot forex and includes more than 85 currency pairs. | Indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, and cryptocurrency trading are not offered; major-pair leverage is capped at 1:50. |
| Trader choosing between spread-only and commission pricing | Standard has no commission, while Zero+ combines a 0.0-pip starting spread with a $5-per-lot flat commission. | Starting spreads differ from reported average spreads, and total costs depend on trading activity. |
| Trader using MetaTrader or algorithmic tools | MT4, MT5, and desktop ProRealTime support automation; tastyfx also offers API trading and VPS hosting. | Full MetaTrader automation is desktop/VPS-centric, and ProRealTime is desktop-only. |
| Trader able to meet Prime’s minimum | Prime has no commission and spreads from about 0.6 pips. | The account requires a $50,000 minimum deposit. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
U.S. retail forex protections Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
The U.S. account is a retail forex account, not a CFD or securities account; it has no negative balance protection and does not carry securities-account SIPC protection.
Prime account minimum Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Prime requires a $50,000 minimum deposit; Standard and Zero+ have no minimum initial deposit.
Withdrawal charges and timing Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
ACH withdrawals are $0, domestic wires cost $25, and international wires cost $45; published processing times differ by method.
Country eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
The U.S. retail forex offering is restricted in multiple countries; confirm eligibility for your residence before applying.
FxFind's Assessment on tastyfx
tastyfx combines U.S. retail forex access, several platform routes, and a choice of no-commission or commission-based pricing. These features are relevant to U.S. forex traders who want platform options and can match an account to their trading habits. The trade-offs are limited market access, a 1:50 cap on U.S. retail leverage for major pairs, and no negative balance protection. The lowest starting spread is tied to a commission account, while Prime’s no-commission pricing requires a $50,000 minimum deposit. Withdrawal fees and reported difficulty resolving withdrawal issues are further considerations. Traders needing multi-asset access, negative balance protection, or a different legal structure may find another broker more suitable.
Review method: FxFind’s assessment draws on broker product and pricing information, regulatory registration details, structured platform and payment terms, and FxFind category scores. Customer-support observations are treated as feedback themes, not independently verified outcomes. See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About tastyfx
Is tastyfx regulated for U.S. retail forex?
Yes. tastyfx LLC is a CFTC-registered RFED and an NFA Forex Dealer Member for U.S. retail forex clients. This is a retail forex account, not a CFD or securities account.
What is the minimum deposit at tastyfx?
Standard and Zero+ accounts have no minimum initial deposit. Prime requires a $50,000 minimum deposit; IRA requirements depend on the custodian and account.
What leverage does tastyfx offer?
The maximum retail leverage on major currency pairs in the U.S. offering is 1:50. It may be lower at larger position sizes or during volatility and news, and can differ under another legal entity.
Does tastyfx offer anything besides forex?
No. Forex is the only offered asset class; indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, cryptocurrencies, and other assets are marked as not offered.
Which trading platforms are available?
tastyfx offers its web and mobile platform, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, and ProRealTime. ProRealTime is desktop-only, and full MT4/MT5 automation is desktop/VPS-centric.
Does tastyfx provide negative balance protection?
No. The U.S. CFTC retail forex framework does not provide negative balance protection, so an account balance can technically fall below zero during extreme market events.
What does tastyfx charge for withdrawals?
ACH withdrawals are $0. Outgoing domestic wires cost $25 and international wires cost $45; check withdrawals cost $5 domestically and $10 internationally.
Does tastyfx allow automated trading?
MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors on desktop/VPS, while ProRealTime provides ProOrder algorithmic trading on desktop. tastyfx also supports API trading and VPS hosting; its proprietary platform is not documented as an in-platform programmable engine.