The XM Group Decision Map
| Decision Question | FxFind Finding |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider it | MT4/MT5 access, a $5 minimum deposit for most accounts, copy trading and educational resources including webinars, tutorials and eBooks. |
| Main limitation | Pricing and leverage vary by account and jurisdiction; the reported EUR/USD average spread is 2.34 pips, and Zero adds a commission. |
| Most natural fit | Beginner and intermediate traders who value low entry requirements, educational resources and MetaTrader access. |
| Relevant account/platform setup | Standard or Micro for commission-free pricing; Ultra Low for a lower-spread, zero-commission route; Zero for raw spreads plus commission. MT4 and MT5 support desktop automation. |
| FxFind Rating | - / 10 |
View the FxFind rating breakdown
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Trust and Safety | Not scored |
| Fees and Commissions | Not scored |
| Deposits and Withdrawals | Not scored |
| Tradable Instruments | Not scored |
| Setup | Not scored |
| Account Opening | Not scored |
| Customer Support | Not scored |
| Trading Conditions | Not scored |
| Market Research and Education | Not scored |
The low starting deposit can help traders test a setup with limited initial capital, but it says little about likely trading costs. Account pricing, instrument spreads and jurisdiction-specific leverage also matter.
Pros
-
Most listed trading accounts have a $5 minimum deposit.
-
MT4 and MT5 are available on desktop, web and mobile, with Expert Advisor automation on desktop.
-
Negative Balance Protection applies across account types.
-
The education package includes webinars, video tutorials and eBooks.
Cons
-
Reported average spreads include 2.34 pips on EUR/USD and 2.87 pips on GBP/USD.
-
The Zero account charges $3.50 per lot per side, while the Shares account requires a $10,000 initial deposit.
-
Direct custom REST or FIX API integrations are not offered to retail clients.
-
A $10 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months.
XM Group by Client Region and Legal Entity
Legal Entities by Client Region
XM lists regulatory jurisdictions in Cyprus, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa, Kenya, Australia, Belize, Mauritius and Seychelles. Named regulators are CySEC, DFSA, FSCA, CMA, ASIC, FSC and FSA. The entity serving a client depends on their location. Eligible retail clients under XM’s Cyprus entity are covered by the Investor Compensation Fund up to €20,000.
Protection by Entity
XM segregates client funds from its operational capital and provides Negative Balance Protection across account types. Under this protection, losses are not intended to exceed deposited funds. The €20,000 ICF coverage applies only to eligible retail clients under the Cyprus entity; it does not automatically cover every XM client.
Corporate Transparency and Ownership
Founded in 2009, XM Group is privately held rather than publicly traded.
Trading Costs by Account and Instrument
Representative Trading Costs
| Instrument | Spread Basis | Commission | Important Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | Broker-reported average: 2.34 pips | Standard and Micro: no commission. Zero: $3.50 per lot per side ($7.00 round trip). | Average spread; costs vary by account pricing route. |
| GBP/USD | Broker-reported average: 2.87 pips | Standard and Micro: no commission. Zero: $3.50 per lot per side ($7.00 round trip). | Average spread; costs vary by account pricing route. |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | Broker-reported average: 0.5 points | Commission terms depend on the account. | Spread is measured in points, not pips. |
| S&P 500 CFD | Broker-reported average: 0.65 points | Commission terms depend on the account. | Spread is measured in points, not pips. |
| Zero account pricing | Raw spreads starting from 0.0 pips | $3.50 per lot per side ($7.00 round trip) | The starting spread is not an average or a guarantee for every instrument or trading period. |
| Shares account | Exchange bid/ask | Commission replaces the spread for direct stock trading; the amount depends on the applicable terms. | $10,000 initial deposit; availability varies by jurisdiction. |
Costs Outside the Trade
| Trader Behavior | Possible Cost | Broker Rule |
|---|---|---|
| Holding positions overnight | Swap may be credited or debited | Most positions held past 22:00 GMT incur overnight swap fees. Three-day rollovers apply on Wednesdays for forex and precious metals, and Fridays for cash indices, energies and stocks. Futures CFDs have no overnight swap fees. Islamic accounts are swap-free; Ultra Low swap terms vary by instrument and jurisdiction. |
| Leaving an account inactive | $10 per month | Applies after three months of inactivity. |
| Depositing or withdrawing in a different currency from the account base currency | Currency conversion markup | XM’s conversion rate is generally 0.5%–1% worse than the mid-market rate. |
| Depositing | No XM deposit fee; third-party charges may apply | XM does not charge deposit fees, though payment processors may charge conversion fees. |
| Withdrawing by bank wire | Provider or bank fees may apply | Wire withdrawals under $200 may incur provider fees; intermediary-bank charges may also apply. |
Account type, holding time and base-currency alignment drive the main cost differences. A commission-free account is not necessarily cheaper: compare its wider spread with the Zero account’s commission and the instrument’s actual spread.
Key Trade-Offs to Consider
Low Entry Deposit Versus Account-Specific Costs
Most XM accounts, including Micro, Standard and Ultra Low, have a $5 minimum deposit. The Shares account requires $10,000, and trading costs still depend on the account’s spread and commission structure. Traders with smaller balances should distinguish the minimum needed to open an account from the funding and pricing required for their strategy.
High Global Leverage Versus Equity and Jurisdiction Limits
Global accounts can access up to 1:1000 for balances up to $40,000, but the maximum falls as equity rises. Heavily regulated regions such as the UK and EU cap leverage at 1:30, and instrument-specific limits can be lower. High leverage is not available uniformly and magnifies losses as well as gains; Negative Balance Protection limits losses to deposited funds.
MetaTrader Automation Versus No Direct Retail API
XM supports Expert Advisors through MT4 and MT5. VPS hosting is available under qualifying activity and equity conditions or for a monthly fee. Retail clients do not have direct REST or FIX API integrations, so custom external systems must use MetaTrader’s automation environment rather than a direct broker API connection.
Build a Trading Setup
Account and Platform Compatibility
| Account | Compatible Platforms | Pricing Model | Automation | Important Constraint | Natural Use Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micro | MT4 / MT5 | No commission; trading costs are built into wider spreads. | Expert Advisors through MT4/MT5 desktop. | $5 minimum deposit on some non-EEA entities; availability varies by entity. | Smaller trade sizes through a micro-lot contract account. |
| Standard | MT4 / MT5 | No commission; trading costs are built into wider spreads. | Expert Advisors through MT4/MT5 desktop. | $5 minimum deposit on some non-EEA entities; availability varies by entity. | Commission-free MetaTrader trading. |
| Ultra Low | MT4 / MT5 / XM App | Low-spread pricing; no commission. | Expert Advisors through MT4/MT5 desktop. | Instrument spreads and swap terms vary by jurisdiction and instrument. | Traders seeking a lower-spread route without a separate commission. |
| Zero | MT4 / MT5 / XM App | Raw spreads from 0.0 pips plus $3.50 per lot per side. | Expert Advisors through MT4/MT5 desktop. | Commission applies; account conditions vary by entity. | Traders who prefer raw spreads plus commission. |
| Shares | MT5 / XM platform | Exchange bid/ask; commission replaces the spread. | No separate user-programmable automation capability was verified in current public documentation. | $10,000 initial deposit; product and availability vary by jurisdiction. | Direct stock trading where the account is offered. |
Platform-Specific Differences
MT4 and MT5 are available as desktop terminals, web platforms and iOS/Android apps. Expert Advisors and custom MQL automation are centred on desktop or VPS use; browser and mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring. XM also offers its own app and WebTrader, as well as TradingView. TradingView strategies alone do not guarantee unattended live execution through XM.
Practical Setup Assessment
Manual traders can use the XM App, WebTrader, MT4 or MT5. Automated strategies can run through MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors, and XM offers VPS hosting for uninterrupted trading. The VPS is free with at least $5,000 in account equity and five round-turn lots (or 500 micro-lots) traded in the previous 30 days; otherwise, it costs $28 per month prepaid. Copy trading is available through XM’s service, with a $50 minimum investment to follow a strategy. XM also allows accounts to be linked with ZuluTrade.
Trading Conditions and Position Management
Entering the Market
XM says it does not use requotes or order rejections. Fast markets can still produce fills that are better or worse than requested, so execution at the requested price is not assured during volatility.
Leverage
XM’s global leverage tiers are based on account equity: up to 1:1000 for $5–$40,000, 1:500 for $40,001–$80,000, 1:200 for $80,001–$200,000 and 1:100 above $200,000. Retail clients in heavily regulated regions such as the UK and EU are capped at 1:30. Limits for specific instruments, including crypto, some stocks and indices, can be lower.
Margin Calls and Stop-Outs
XM’s margin-call level is 100% and its stated stop-out level is 50%. Its leverage information also describes automatic position closure at a 20% margin level, which conflicts with the stated 50% stop-out figure. Establish the applicable trigger for the account before trading.
Trading Restrictions
| Trading Activity | Status | Important Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Scalping | Allowed | No stated limits on trade frequency or holding time; Expert Advisors are also permitted. |
| Hedging | Allowed | Long and short positions may be held on the same instrument, but positions cannot be hedged between two different accounts. Hedged margin requirements vary by instrument. |
| Expert Advisors | Allowed | Available through MT4 and MT5; direct custom retail REST and FIX APIs are not offered. |
| News trading | Allowed on standard accounts | News trading and automated arbitrage are prohibited when trading with an XM Bonus Scheme. Spreads can widen and orders may experience slippage during major releases. |
Tradable Markets: Range and Restrictions
| Asset Class | Approx. Instruments | What Is Notable | Main Restriction / Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Forex | ≈55 | Margin FX trading across major, minor and exotic pairs; swaps may apply. | Available leverage and pair access depend on the client’s legal entity, jurisdiction, account equity and instrument. |
| Indices | ≈27 | Cash-, futures- and thematic-index derivatives. | Product availability and leverage vary by entity, account and instrument; not every index is available in every jurisdiction. |
| Commodities | ≈20 | Metals, energies and soft-commodity derivatives; futures-referenced contracts may have expiries. | These are derivatives rather than physical commodities, and margin, swaps or expiries depend on the specific contract. |
| Stocks | 1,200+ | Stock derivatives are widely available; a separate Shares account can provide direct stock ownership where offered. | Stock-CFD access varies by entity, while the Shares account has separate eligibility and funding requirements, including a higher initial deposit. |
| Bonds | Not Offered | - | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | Entity-dependent | Crypto derivatives are available through selected XM entities and can trade around the clock where offered. | Crypto access is not uniform across jurisdictions or entities, and instrument-specific leverage limits can be lower than the broker’s headline maximum. |
| Other | Not separately published | ETF derivatives, thematic indices and other specialised derivative products are available through selected entities. | The public product mix is entity-dependent and XM does not publish one stable category-by-category count for every client region. |
XM advertises a broad multi-asset range, but the exact catalogue depends on the legal entity, jurisdiction and account. Most markets are traded as derivatives without ownership of the underlying asset; direct stock ownership is a separate route through the Shares account where that account is available.
Opening, Funding, and Withdrawing From an Account
Account Opening and Verification
XM requires KYC verification for real trading accounts. Accepted identity documents include a government-issued photo ID, such as a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence. Proof of residence can be a utility bill, bank statement or residency certificate dated within the previous three months. Verification is required before deposits, trading or withdrawals can be processed.
XM does not accept clients from the United States, Canada, Israel, Iran, North Korea, Belize, Russia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Myanmar, Cuba, Guam, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands and Japan. Account availability and conditions may also depend on the entity serving the client.
Deposit Methods
| Method | Deposit Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pay | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Requires a supported Apple device, eligible card and supported country or region. Availability also depends on the broker's payment provider. |
| Bitcoin | $50 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | 15–60 minutes | Send BTC only to the Bitcoin address and network shown in the deposit instructions. Incorrectly sent transfers may be irreversible. |
| Google Pay | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Requires a supported device or country and an eligible card or bank account. Availability depends on the issuer and the broker's payment provider. |
| Maestro | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Only existing Maestro cards may be available, and acceptance can be limited. No new Maestro cards have been issued in Europe since July 2023. |
| Mastercard | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Your card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| MPESA | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant to a few minutes | Available only in supported M-PESA markets. An eligible local mobile-money account and applicable verification are required. |
| Neteller | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Requires an eligible NETELLER account. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Paysafe | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Paysafe covers several payment products. Availability, verification and transaction limits depend on the option offered at checkout. |
| Skrill | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Requires an eligible Skrill account. Country availability, account verification and transaction limits may apply. |
| Sticpay | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Requires an eligible STICPAY account. Country restrictions, verification requirements and transaction limits may apply. |
| Tether | $50 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | 15–60 minutes | USDT is available on multiple networks. Use only the exact network and address shown in the deposit instructions; a network mismatch may result in permanent loss. |
| Visa | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | Instant | Your card must support online payments and be accepted by the broker. Issuer, country, currency and authentication limits may apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $5 | No broker deposit fee, most provider fees covered, with exceptions | 2–5 business days | Use the exact beneficiary, bank details and payment reference provided. Intermediary bank fees, currency conversion and processing delays may apply. |
Withdrawal Methods
| Method | Withdrawal Minimum | Broker Fee | Expected Arrival | Important Restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pay | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; card/wallet settlement commonly 2–5 business days | Not a standalone payout balance; refunds return to the original linked payment card. |
| Bitcoin | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; blockchain confirmation time additional | Use a valid Bitcoin address and supported network; crypto withdrawals are irreversible. |
| Google Pay | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; card/wallet settlement commonly 2–5 business days | Not a standalone payout balance; refunds return to the original linked payment method. |
| Mastercard | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; typically 2–5 business days to be credited | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| MPESA | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; mobile-money/provider receipt time may vary | Supported M-PESA markets only; registered mobile number, verification and local limits apply. |
| Neteller | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; e-wallet receipt is often same day | Requires an eligible NETELLER account; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Skrill | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; e-wallet receipt is often same day | Requires an eligible Skrill account; verification, country and wallet limits apply. |
| Sticpay | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; e-wallet receipt is often same day | Requires an eligible STICPAY account; country, verification and wallet limits apply. |
| Tether | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; blockchain confirmation time additional | USDT uses multiple networks; choose the exact supported network or funds may be lost. |
| Visa | $5 equivalent; method limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; typically 2–5 business days to be credited | Available only through supported card-payout or refund routes; issuer and regional restrictions apply. |
| Wire Transfer | $5 equivalent; bank/provider limits may vary | Generally no broker fee, provider/bank charges may apply, wire under $200 may incur provider fees | Processed within 24 hours; typically 2–5 business days | Enter bank, recipient and SWIFT/BIC details exactly; fees and processing delays may apply. |
Payment Rules
Card and e-wallet deposits are usually credited immediately. Local bank transfers normally take about one hour, while international wires normally take two to five business days. XM processes withdrawals within 24 hours; card and bank-wire payments commonly take two to five business days to reach the client, while e-wallet payouts are normally completed within 24 hours. Conversion costs can apply if the payment currency differs from the account’s base currency.
Customer Support
| Route | Access | Hours | Human / Automated | Languages / Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Live Chat | Available | 24/7 on XM Global | Human / agent-assisted | Languages are not listed; availability varies by region and entity. |
| [email protected] | Not listed | Human / agent-assisted | Language coverage varies by entity; support is asynchronous. | |
| Phone | +357 25029933 | 24/7 on XM Global | Human / agent-assisted | The relevant phone number and language coverage depend on entity and region. |
| Messaging apps | Available channels vary | Not listed | Human / messaging support if available | No channel is listed for XM Global; availability and hours vary by entity. |
Customer feedback includes recurring reports of funding-support problems and lengthy verification cases. These accounts reflect individual customer experiences, not outcomes for every account.
Research, Trading Tools, and Education
| User Need | Available Resources | Provider | Access Requirement | Depth / Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Learning trading concepts | Live webinars, video tutorials and eBooks | XM Group | Access conditions are not stated as a single universal rule; availability may vary by account, platform, region or login status. | Education is available; its coverage and depth are not specified. |
| Market context and trade ideas | Market Analysis and Trading Ideas | XM Group; no external provider identified | Access may depend on entity, account tier or platform. | Commentary and setups cover selected markets and timeframes; coverage and publishing frequency vary. |
| Track scheduled events and headlines | Economic Calendar and Market News | XM Group; underlying calendar and news data vendors are not identified | Access may vary by entity and platform. | Calendar data cannot capture unscheduled news or every market-moving event; news coverage and latency vary. |
| Calculate trading values | Trading Calculators | XM Group | Web- or platform-based; a universal login requirement is not specified. | Calculations are indicative; final trading costs can differ. |
Who XM Group Fits
| Trader Profile | Why It May Suit Them | Main Reservation |
|---|---|---|
| Beginner or intermediate trader building foundational knowledge | XM’s education package includes webinars, video tutorials and eBooks; most listed accounts have a $5 minimum deposit. | Low initial funding does not remove spread, commission or overnight financing costs. |
| MetaTrader user who wants automated strategies | MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, and XM offers VPS hosting subject to activity and equity conditions or a monthly fee. | Retail clients do not have direct custom REST or FIX API access; automation is centred on MetaTrader. |
| Trader seeking strategy copying | XM Copy Trading allows investors to follow Strategy Managers from a $50 minimum investment and set take-profit or stop-loss limits. | Copy trading does not remove the risk of losses from the copied strategy. |
| Trader comparing commission-free and raw-spread pricing | Standard and Micro have no commission; Zero offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a fixed per-lot commission. | The appropriate route depends on the spreads and commissions for the instruments traded. |
Before you deposit
Key Conditions to Verify Before Funding
Country eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
XM does not accept clients from the United States, Canada, Israel, Iran, North Korea, Belize, Russia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Myanmar, Cuba, Guam, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands or Japan.
Account minimum Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Most trading accounts have a $5 minimum deposit, but the Shares account requires an initial deposit of $10,000.
Leverage limits Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Maximum leverage depends on jurisdiction, account equity and instrument; heavily regulated regions such as the UK and EU cap retail leverage at 1:30.
Inactivity and conversion costs Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
A $10 monthly inactivity fee applies after three months, and currency conversion can add a 0.5%–1% markup against the mid-market rate.
Bonus eligibility Tap to read the check Tap to collapse
Deposit and welcome bonuses depend on country and regulatory entity; bonuses are typically unavailable to clients registered under XM’s EU-regulated entities.
FxFind's Assessment on XM Group
XM Group combines low entry requirements with MT4/MT5 access and educational resources. Most accounts start at $5, and MetaTrader users can run Expert Advisors or use the broker’s VPS service. Copy trading is another option for clients who prefer to follow strategy managers.
The low entry threshold does not describe the full cost or access conditions. Standard and Micro have wider spreads, Zero adds commission, leverage varies by jurisdiction and equity, and the Shares account requires $10,000. Frequent traders should also consider the reported EUR/USD and GBP/USD average spreads. XM is relevant to beginner and intermediate traders who value education and platform choice and can work within these account-specific terms. Those requiring direct custom APIs, uniformly high leverage or a particular cost structure may find the setup less suitable.
Review method:See the FxFind Broker Review Methodology for scoring criteria and weightings.
Questions Readers Usually Have About XM Group
What is XM Group’s minimum deposit?
The minimum deposit is $5 for most trading accounts, including Micro, Standard and Ultra Low. The Shares account requires an initial deposit of $10,000.
Does XM Group offer 1:1000 leverage?
Global accounts can access up to 1:1000 for account equity from $5 to $40,000. The maximum falls at higher equity levels, instrument limits can be lower, and retail clients in heavily regulated regions such as the UK and EU are capped at 1:30.
How do XM’s Standard, Ultra Low and Zero accounts differ in cost?
Standard and Micro accounts have no commission, with trading costs built into wider spreads. Ultra Low has low-spread pricing and no commission, while Zero combines raw spreads starting from 0.0 pips with a $3.50 per-lot commission on each side.
Can clients automate trading with XM?
Yes. XM supports Expert Advisors through MT4 and MT5, with full automation features centred on desktop or VPS use. Retail clients do not have direct custom REST or FIX API integrations.
Does XM charge an inactivity fee?
XM charges $10 per month after three months of inactivity. Currency conversion fees can also apply when the transaction currency differs from the account’s base currency.
How long do XM withdrawals take?
XM normally processes withdrawals within 24 hours. Card and bank-wire payments commonly take two to five business days to reach the client, while e-wallet payouts are normally completed within 24 hours; provider or bank charges may apply.
Which clients are covered by the Investor Compensation Fund?
Eligible retail clients under XM’s Cyprus entity are covered by the Investor Compensation Fund up to €20,000. Coverage is specific to eligible clients under that entity and does not automatically apply to all XM clients.